Wireless Connection problem - constant drop outs (Intel Pro 3945ABG wireless NIC)

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by huey85, Feb 13, 2007.

  1. huey85

    mdesarno

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a dropped connection about an hour and a half after my post, like usual. I left the computer on the rest of the night, but it was still connected when I got up in the morning. The real test will come on Monday, when I'm using the Internet with WoW and Ventrilo.
     
    mdesarno, Mar 30, 2007
    #81
    1. Advertisements

  2. huey85

    JustSomeGuy1

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    crap well the new intel drivers have fixed the greenbar problem but i still get drops although they are much rarer. p.s. I have had less drops using intels driver only rather then the intel driver+software thing.
     
    JustSomeGuy1, Apr 3, 2007
    #82
    1. Advertisements

  3. huey85

    mdesarno

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since that initial drop from the last post I made here, no drops. The problem appears to be dealt with for now. Monday night was a success without any annoying network problems. Thanks to the other posters here for helping me out with this by posting in this thread!!!!
     
    mdesarno, Apr 4, 2007
    #83
  4. huey85

    Unknown

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem here. Here is a quick summary:

    <U>Router setup</U>

    WEP
    SSID hidden
    Netgear router (I also had the problem on a Zyxel, so I don't think the router is the problem)
    MTU size 1458

    <U>Problem laptop</U>

    New Sony Vaio loaded with Vista Business using built-in Intel wireless (3945ABG)
    - connection drops after a few hours and needs a reboot

    - signal strength never goes above 3 bars

    <U>Good laptop</U>

    Old Dell Inspiron with XP SP2 using 802.11b ancient PCMCIA wireless card
    - connection never, ever drops!

    So on the Sony, I've disabled the Teredo pseudo device, disallowed the computer turning off the Intel adapter and set power management to max.

    I also just installed the latest Intel driver (just the driver only):

    http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scr...on&amp;lang=eng&amp;strOSs=160&amp;submit=Go!

    This has instantly fixed the signal strength problem.I get 4-5 bars at 30 feet away through two brick walls. Before I would only get 3 bars, even right next to the router.

    I've started seeing a lot of these posts come up on google, so I think the problem may be fairly widespread.

    I'll report back on whether the driver + disable Teredo has fixed it.

    I will also try the PCMCIA in the Vaio to see if that helps (if the above doesn't work).
     
    Unknown, Apr 9, 2007
    #84
  5. huey85

    Unknown

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to confirm that this is fixed now. It would normally have dropped by now.

    Also, it was previously not reconnecting after resuming standby. It does now. All good then :)
     
    Unknown, Apr 9, 2007
    #85
  6. huey85

    colemac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am still having issues with the wireless in Vista Ultimate. I have tried everything.

    This is my setup

    Router - Linksys WRT54G

    Wireless Card - Intel 2915ABG

    What happens is that the connection drops from the internet but I can still connect locally to my shared files or printers. I have all the latest drivers from Intel and Dell. Is there any kind of fix anyone has heard. Can you please help me out.

    I really appreciate it

    Thanks
     
    colemac, Apr 10, 2007
    #86
  7. huey85

    Gingerman

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if this is the same problem or not. I have two laptops being used within 10 feet of one another. One of them has no problem using our wireless connection. It is running XP. My laptop, running VISTA won't connect via the wireless.

    Toshiba has no one who knows anything about working with VISTA, and so has no suggestion as to how to fix this problem.

    does anyone have any suggestions?
     
    Gingerman, May 26, 2007
    #87
  8. huey85

    iamjorgensen

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I am having the same problem - but I have a stationary HP Pavillion. It drops out occasionally with no specific actions are taken! it really drives me mad. Since I have a stationary - power opptions setup can not be the reason.



    I have two laptops (XP) - no problems whatsoever...
     
    iamjorgensen, Jul 30, 2007
    #88
  9. huey85

    kwinkle

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Vista laptop - HP and i am also having this EXACT same issue and i must day i am getting very frustrated! Did you ever find a fix - I have done everything I can think of!
     
    kwinkle, Aug 31, 2007
    #89
  10. huey85

    kwinkle

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All - I wanted to post that I cintacted HP about this because my Vista laptop is less than a week old. The tech that helped knew of the issue right away - i did not understand everything that was said but was told that it is an issue with the settings (or something) of the TC/IP or something anyway they sent me to this site



    http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html



    Told me to download the file (even tho it says for XP) and wala! the problem seems fixed! Also, they said it could be an issue with the power settings so they said i should also try this:



    Here are the steps.



    1. Click Start, Control Panel, and then Network Connections. Actually in Vista this is called networking or something

    2. Right-Click on already setup Wireless Connection and Select

    Properties.

    3. Under Properties, Click the 'Configure' button.

    4. Click the Advanced tab.

    5. Under Property section, select Power output, and under the 'Value'

    sections beside, select 100%.

    6. Also, Under Property section, select Power save mode, and under the

    'Value' sections beside, select disabled.



    The above steps will set the power setting to default.



    You can also perform the following steps.



    Change the wireless power saving setting:



    1.Open Power Options in Control Panel

    2.Choose Change Settings for the current power plan

    3.Choose Change Advanced Power Settings

    4.Expand Wireless Adapter Settings

    5.Expand Power Saving Mode

    6.Choose Maximum Power Saving, Medium Power Saving, Low Power Saving to

    enable various levels of 802.11 power save modes.

    7.Choose the Power Saver power plan:

    8.Click on the battery meter on the desktop and choose Power Saver.



    The Power Saver plan has 802.11 power saving mode enabled for both battery

    and AC power



    Anyway - I did not perform these steps becasue the download solved my problem (so far!)
     
    kwinkle, Sep 1, 2007
    #90
  11. huey85

    Wittbelle

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are having the same problem. We thought the problem was exclusive to wireless networking so we hooked up a cord from the D-Link router to the Vista computer, but that didn't help. My son's new desktop has Vista. It worked fine for a month or so, but within the last few weeks it's dropping our internet connection, not just for his computer, but for the other three that use the same wireless router. And when he's not on, the connection is perfect. We've been to every website and reset his Pv6 and his IP and his MAC and his pseudo tunnelling and you name it and we have reset it or disabled it and nothing helps. We are considering buying a new router but I've read that this problem is indiscriminate of all different types of routers/cables/connections. We really don't know what to do! HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:crazy:
     
    Wittbelle, Oct 30, 2007
    #91
  12. huey85

    rikkisalmond

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would just like to say that I am having the exact same problme on my brand new Sony CR11Z laptop. Phoned tech support and they have NO knowledge of this issue; there is clearly something wrong with the drivers for Vista, and I hope that Intel or Microsoft get this sorted soon.

    I am also surprised at Sony releasing a laptop without first realising this. Connection drops - or more specifically goes to "limited connectivity" and then can't find any other wireless networks! PLEASE if anyone has any knowledge of this and a possible fix, please do reply to this thread! I am at my wits end with a brand new laptop that I have to plug into the router with a wire.

    Thanks,

    Rikki
     
    rikkisalmond, Nov 18, 2007
    #92
  13. huey85

    lacroixdp

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK guys, I've found a solution for all of you affected by this using an Intel network driver. Seems that a feature in this driver called "Throughput Enhancement" is to blame. I tried this on two machines of mine that were having the issue with an Airlink AR680W and they are both solid as a rock, no dropped pings; as well as the interweb is extremely responsive now. Please give this a shot and let me know if this fixesyou up.
     
    lacroixdp, Nov 19, 2007
    #93
  14. huey85

    meelmark

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have about the same problem. I have bought a new Compaq C710ED (america : C714NR) and since the beginning i have the wireless drops. What happens exactly? (btw: it has a broadcom chip)

    All works OK. In 3 seconds connection to wireless network. After a random amount of time (or data?) it just drops. When renewing the network-scanner Vista says it cannot find new networks! Normally there are about 5 different networks from people around the area in it. When the connection drops, the blue light of the WLAN on the notebook is stable.<UL><LI>Disable/enable the networkadaptor has no use: i need to restart the laptop or do it some time in sleep-mode and come back</LI><LI>I tried another wireless router: it has the same problem</LI><LI>Disabled are powersaving options for the networkcards</LI><LI>Latest drivers are installed</LI><LI>Two other laptops in the house with wireless cards (even 1 of 10 years old!!) always work perfectly with no drops!</LI><LI>It shows totally no networks when it has dropped: i guess this must be some hardware/vistadriver thing.</LI><LI>When it drops, it is not disabled from the devices: it stays there the same, works correctly etc.</LI>[/list]

    I wrote it in a support-letter to the repair man at Compaq. They have changed the motherboard. It came back and guess what: it still does not work...

    So i decided to test new things before a new sending:<UL><LI>Installed XP and the broadcam XP drivers: the same problem. Also dropping after some time!</LI><LI>Tried to disable that IPV6 tunnel adaptor as written in this threath... no result</LI><LI>Static IP adres- no result</LI><LI>Change from WEP to WPA: no result</LI><LI>Disabling IPv6: no result</LI>[/list]

    So, what do you guys think about this?

    I have the feeling that WHEN it drops the connection, somehow the wireless adaptor is turned off or in a big sleep mode, while all settings in windows and led-indicators on the laptop show a fine working card. But they have already swapped the motherboard in the last repair..!
     
    meelmark, Dec 23, 2007
    #94
  15. huey85

    netgearman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm having the same issue with the net droppin at random,i have a dell laptop 1521 with a 1390 dell wireless card running off a netgear wgt624v3 .any ideas i've read through this thread but want to see if theres anything for my laptop.i've tried the firmware,mtu change,power setting all the way to 100% etc.any ideas?
     
    netgearman, Jan 30, 2008
    #95
  16. huey85

    DamnFool

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please, we have to keep these posts going. This is the only website that has a continuous discussion going on regarding this issue. I bought my Toshiba in December - Intel 3945ABG and Vista 32. Same problems as everyone else. I have spent endless amount of hours researching - no answers. Have tried all the drivers I could possibly find - nothing. I am sitting 2 feet from my router and it drops the connection every few seconds or won't even recognize the network.



    This is a disaster! This problem has been going on for at least two years - search it yourself - countless threads and posts dedicated to this card and vista.



    I've emailed Intel, emailed Microsoft - nothing. Any suggestions on where to turn?
     
    DamnFool, Feb 1, 2008
    #96
  17. huey85

    netgearman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe we all should start calling intel everyday till they get this fixed this is the most annoying thing i've ever come across and with no fix this is nuts.i'm out of ideas cuz i've tried everything in this forum
     
    netgearman, Feb 6, 2008
    #97
  18. huey85

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Jason recently posted a "sticky" on network troubleshooting. Have you tried all those suggestions?
     
    WAW8, Feb 6, 2008
    #98
  19. huey85

    DamnFool

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I downloaded driver 11.5.0.32 from Intel and updated the wireless card. I also downloaded the PROSet/Wireless Network Connection software (11/8/07) from the Intel website. Both are available under the downloads for the 3945ABG



    I now have full bars shown everywhere in my house. This never happened before and I previously always had the worst signal reception when I was closest to my router. However, I am highly skeptical. Basically, my connection speed seems slower than ever, it takes 10x longer to download or play videos online (i.e. youtube) and the signal drops while performing seemingly basic tasks (mainly when clicking on links on varies websites) along when on youtube and other video sites.



    Also, when I run the manual diagnostics program I get "passed" on all test results except the ping test says "failed". Does anyone know what this might mean? Perhaps I do not have my router properly set? Is there any other software I can download to perform tests? I would like to provide everyone here with as much information as possible.



    The connection is definitely much better than previously reported so obviously the software and/or driver download did something. However, the continuous dropped connection is extremely frustrating especially when I supposedly have a full bar connection.
     
    DamnFool, Feb 6, 2008
    #99
  20. huey85

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Have you specifically disabled Autotuning? I've seen that implicated in connection dropping. Jason mentions it in his "pinned" post on network troubleshooting.
     
    WAW8, Feb 7, 2008
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.