Windows Vista RC1 and Router Problems

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by thenjduke, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. thenjduke

    thenjduke

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ihave a little problem. I have Vista 5505.6 and a asus a832-mvp deluxe motherboard with Marvell Yukon Nic onboard that is not able to access the internet through a router. I can access the internet with Windows XP build no problems. I have tried 3 different routers. First is a Buffalo with DD-WRT Firmware on it which I have no problems with past versions of Vista or Windows XP. The other two are a Linksys and Belkin and all give the same situation. I can ping www.google.com and msnbc.com with all 3 routers. It replies back no problem. The problem is that I can not connect to the websites with IE 7. I have used IE 7 RC1 on XP no problems with this routers. I hooked up the NIC card directly to the Cablem modem and boom no problems. Anyone have any ideas. I have tried to disable IPV6 but still same problem when connected to Router. Sorry about the log post.
     
    thenjduke, Aug 25, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. thenjduke

    atlienz

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same exact problem. I had it working for about 2 hours one day after I made a change on my router for MTU's. It was set for automatic and I had changed it to 1492. A reboot to vista after some new installs and it happened again. Havn't been able to get it working since.



    I have at least narrowed it down to ipv4 and it does not appear to have any effect on ipv6. Try it out: ipv6forum.com



    I have humored the idea that it was the SPI on my Linksys router (WRT54G) that is causing problems, so I disabled it, rebooted Vista (habit of a long time Windows user), didn't help.



    I then tried to change the MTU on both my router and on Vista in the IPv4 properties, no go.



    I even at one point turned off ipv6, and the Link-Layer Topology Discovery mapper/responder, also didn't do anything.



    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
     
    atlienz, Sep 1, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. thenjduke

    atlienz

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the answer on another Site.



    "ok I found the solution: The NIC Driver for Networc Cards with Mavell Yukon

    Chipset seems to have a Problem...solution:

    Go to Local Area Properties Setting -> Configure -> Advanced -> Change "IPv4

    Checksum Offload" to DISABLED

    then the sites are accessible !

    cheers felix "
     
    atlienz, Sep 1, 2006
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.