Windows Vista Install Stops - error 80073712

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by vaderag, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. vaderag

    vaderag

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is killing me. I see that loads of other people are having similar problems to me - the download stops in windows update and it gives me the error code 80073712



    I've tried the numerous solutions on the net (short of re-installing vista, which is not something i'm prepared to do at the moment)



    I've searched these forums, and found mention to a pinned thread that i cant seem to find!? I'm pretty sure that i'll have tried everything in that thread anyway...



    Can anyone help with this matter?

    Thanks
     
    vaderag, Apr 2, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. vaderag

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Are you trying to reinstall Vista, or are you trying to download and install a Windows Update? Can't tell from your post.
     
    WAW8, Apr 2, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. vaderag

    vaderag

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to get Service Pack 1 installed. I added it as a subheading as i cant find a way to edit the title...
     
    vaderag, Apr 2, 2008
    #3
  4. vaderag

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    OK ... did you check the pinned post about reasons why SP 1 may not install on your PC? Any one of those items will prevent it from completing successfully.
     
    WAW8, Apr 2, 2008
    #4
  5. vaderag

    vaderag

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i checked that, as well as about any other thread that exists about this problem everywhere on the internet!

    I've come to the conclusion that a re-install of vista is the only thing that's going to work - gonna change to the 64bit version while i'm at it too...
     
    vaderag, Apr 5, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.