What Windows Vista Runs on

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by Jason, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Everyone post please post the following:

    1) Your PC specs

    2) What version of vista you are running

    3) How does it run/problems

    Mine:

    Intel P4 2.4ghz overclocked to 2.6ghz

    PC2100 256MB DDR

    Geforce FX 5200 64MB

    I am running Beta1

    Vista runs like crap w/ all the visual styles on. I have to turn all the style off and then it runs pretty good. Occasionally it restarts when trying to return from standby. And it sometimes freezes but returns for about 5 seconds every once in a while.
     
    Jason, Oct 4, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    Ranukano

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    3.0 GHz Pentium 4 with Hyperthreading

    1 Gig DDR Paired RAM

    Radeon X600 256MB

    Build 5219, Beta 2, Evaluation Ultimate Build.

    I had a few problems, such as some games ran slower and i did not see much of a difference wether i had disabeled windows desktop or not.

    The installation defaulted me to a 640 Resolution and gave me distorted screens with lines, but when i had changed to a 1024x768 resolution the colors and screen had fixed themselves.

    Some games i had to run in compatibility for windows XP, and some programs i had to change views to get them to show up correctly.

    Desktop and Explorer(s) worked fine, and my internet speeds were not affected (Except for some games did not connect over LAN or internet due to a firewall problem i'm guessing.) And Flash videos played fine, except for the sound which was distorted and slow and i could not figure out how to fix that.

    Please notice i am stating only problems i had, there are many features that did improve using Vista.
     
    Ranukano, Oct 6, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    _Venom_

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ------------------------------------------------------

    AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.20Ghz)

    1GB of DDR Ram

    ATI Radeon XT800 Pro (All in wonder edition) 400$ btw

    Windows Vista build 5219

    -------------------------------------------------------

    So far it ran near perfection on my pc, near meaning the

    Explorer did every once in awhile crash, but other than

    that it ran very well with all the visual effects on. In fact

    It sometimes seem to surpass the speed of XP in certain

    Things, like games & average pc performance.

    -------------------------------------------------------

    The video cards is what make an incredible diffrence in Vista.

    I had the chance to test it on both a low-end video card (Geforce4)

    And a high-end video card (XT800 Pro) And it makes a world of diffrence.

    In fact I had read a thread about more 256MB cards expecting to raise

    once vista is out, and I for one belive that fact.

    (that's one of the main reason's why I bought such a High end card)

    (Btw the 5219 isn't the second beta, it's just a CTP build)
     
    _Venom_, Oct 6, 2005
    #3
  4. Jason

    Ranukano

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aye, i had just tested it and have not followed to much on the news. I am rather confused, it is not a Beta 2? As the lower right corner had said it was, but i guess versions are a bit off?

    I had used the X850 for a short period of time while using Vista, and i did not see to much of a difference between it and the X600. And your card is priced at around $200 at a Microcenter near my work.
     
    Ranukano, Oct 7, 2005
    #4
  5. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Ya I really need to upgrade my ram.
     
    Jason, Oct 7, 2005
    #5
  6. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    2.41 GHz AMD Athlon 64 4000+



    1 Gig DDR RAM (2x512)



    Radeon X700 Pro 256MB PCIexpress (two monitors, desktop expanded across both)



    Windows Vista Beta 1, 64-Bit Edition.

    -----

    Runs like a dream. Have full effects on. Everything opens in an instant and experianced no slow down yet. Also hasn't crashed yet.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 12, 2005
    #6
  7. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Nice setup. I am going to be geating an Athlon 64 3000+ fairly soon.
     
    Jason, Oct 12, 2005
    #7
  8. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I think any 64-bit processor will run Vista (64-bit Edition) great. I think Vista should only be avaible for 64-bit, but that's just my opionin. I need to get the latest build (beta 2?) but haven't had the time. The drivers for the Radeon are 64-bit I beleave and I was also running Ultramon 64-bit version. I can't wait until the day when everything is running on 64-bit.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 12, 2005
    #8
  9. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Ya, there is suppose to be a 64 and 32 bit retail software packages. The 32 bit targeted at most consumers, I feel sorry for them tho since they wont have any idea how much resources vista needs to run, and once they instal it and it runs slow as hell on their 5 year old pc they will probably be mad. I hope hte 64bit isnt more expensive then the 32.
     
    Jason, Oct 13, 2005
    #9
  10. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0


    exactly. They should be prices the same no matter if its 64bit or 32bit.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 13, 2005
    #10
  11. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought I'd post all my Specs (atleast what I can think of/know).



    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+

    MoBo: MSI K8NNeo4 Platinum SLI Socket 939 Motherboard (I don't use Nvidia, so SLI isn't used)

    Video Card: Sapphire Radeon X700PRO 256MB PCIe w/DVI/TV-OUT (PCIe = PCI Express)

    RAM: 1GB (2x512) of Ultra PC3200 DDR 400MHz CL3

    Disc Drives:

    1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive (Black) (internal) - Never used.. but hey you never know when you might need it.

    Sony DRU720a 16x DVD Burner (internal IDE)

    Artec 16x DVD ROM (internal IDE) w/ Power DVD Software,Black - always good to have two drives, one for burning and one for copying from or reading.

    HDD: Seagate 200GB Serial ATA HD 7200/8MB/S-ATA-150 - Thats 150mb/s gotta love it.

    Fans: Currently 3, might add a 4th... oh and if you want to count the power supply then I have 4 and might add a 5th :p

    Power Supply: Antec NeoPower, 480Watt, ATX12v v2.0, with Dedicated Fan Only Power Connectors which allow NeoPower to control fan speeds on temp.



    Now down to some specs...

    USB 2.0, SATA, Temp Display built-in case, Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit, Two Gigabit Ethernet Ports (1000/100/10)... yeah thats basicly all I can think of right now ;) But that should be all of the main specs.



    If I didn't mention something you'd like to know.. then ask :-D and I'll be more then happy to answer any questions.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 13, 2005
    #11
  12. Jason

    Winex

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PC:



    Intel Pentium IV 3,0 Ghz

    Nvidia GeForce 5200LE

    1024 MB DDR 400 RAM

    2x 80 GB HD on Promise RAID 1



    Vista works fantastic! ;)
     
    Winex, Oct 16, 2005
    #12
  13. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    is the 5200Le differencet from the fx? How much video memory does it have?
     
    Jason, Oct 16, 2005
    #13
  14. Jason

    afeher

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    AMD Sempron 2400+

    512 MB RAM

    ATI 9550 VIVO 128 MB RAM

    Just a little slower than XP but games OK. But i cant use AERO style. I dont know why...
     
    afeher, Oct 16, 2005
    #14
  15. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    How is that sempron? I have been looking at laptops and some have the sempron. I heard it was a cpu which AMD has targeted towards the intel celeron. How does it handel vista?
     
    Jason, Oct 17, 2005
    #15
  16. Jason

    afeher

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Yes the sempron is like Intel Celeron. The Vista is running good, but if I run 2-3 programs as Photoshop,Outlook, IE7 or etc., it slows down. The only problem is that I have ATI Radeon 9550 graphic card and I can't use the aero effects. And the ATI driver (beta) for vista is not working properly. I cant install the drivers becouse I get an error message that I have to set VGA standard driver first and after it trie to install the drivers, but it won't go.
     
    afeher, Oct 17, 2005
    #16
  17. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Thats about what I expected from it. I am leaning more towards the Pentium M's
     
    Jason, Oct 17, 2005
    #17
  18. Jason

    afeher

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Yes it's the same as the Sound Blaster Audigy 2. Perfect hardware, shit software. But they have other drivers working fine, but ATI has no driver without problems...
     
    afeher, Oct 17, 2005
    #18
  19. Jason

    deviantmonkey

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently running Windows Vista Beta Build 5231 on:

    AMD Athlon 64 3200+

    1024GB PC3200 DDR

    200GB 7200RPM SATA (16MB Cache)

    Shuttle SN85G4 V3 Small Form Factor

    16x Plextor DVD+-RW

    ATI Radeon X800XT 256MB

    Runs beautifully... Looks great, and extremely responsive, particular well for a beta release...

    Still haven't figured out how to turn the sidebar on, though...
     
    deviantmonkey, Oct 31, 2005
    #19
  20. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    nice, how do you like the Athlon xp?
     
    Jason, Nov 2, 2005
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.