What Graphics cards work best for vista?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Jason, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. Jason

    nitro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im running a 6600gt with vista and it works great. The only problem is system performance rating which says the card doesnt have sufficent ram, which is 128mb by the way.
     
    nitro, Jul 25, 2006
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    there are work arounds to the xfi and audigy drivers so they work in vista (got my audigy 4 working right now on x64). My system on xp gets a 3DMARK 06' score of 6060, but on vista its only 4780. That like a drop of 1300 points! I use an ati 1900xtx and the ati drivers dont have overdrive, which kicks the GPU up to 100% (or more if oc'd) when a 3D app running, without this i get crap score.
     
    kingofnexus, Aug 4, 2006
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    can run vista and the newest games with my radeon 9800 pro (128 mb) on almost best quality. (for three years now)
     
    blackhat, Aug 17, 2006
    #23
  4. Jason

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    ive still to find a game that doesn't run on my old computer which has a radeon 9000 pro! But i play fps and there is a big difference between 25fps on medium and 50fps on high quality - it really gives you the upper hand.
     
    kingofnexus, Aug 17, 2006
    #24
  5. Jason

    Spyvie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    For a cheap Glass upgrade on a second box of mine I ordered an AGP 6200 128M for $33 from Newegg...



    Not gunna set any benchmark records but it runs Glass @ 1280 x 1024 just fine
     
    Spyvie, Sep 9, 2006
    #25
  6. Jason

    kyun

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a BFG GeForce 7600GT with 256mb GDDR3 memory and it runs it just fine. My only problem with vista is that my CD Drive seems to be a little slow. I have a 52x cd-rewriter and it just can't seem to be as quick as it was in XP.
     
    kyun, Jan 27, 2007
    #26
  7. Jason

    calhounhusker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run the ATI Radeon X800XL and it runs Aero perfectly. It has a 5.9 rating for aero graphics and 5.0 for gaming graphics. :)
     
    calhounhusker, Feb 1, 2007
    #27
  8. Jason

    Vester

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, SC, USA
    I removed the nVidia drivers and got an improvement on my Biostar GeForce 6800 XT (AGP). Graphics score increased from 4.2 to 5.9 and Gaming graphics remained the same.

    [​IMG]
     
    Vester, Apr 26, 2007
    #28
  9. Jason

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    X1650 Pro here. Runs perfectly. Even oblivion with bloom and max AA plus everything else at max. Only problem is res. Can manage only on 1024x768 but gonna try again since i overclocked it. You kinda have to overclock this card as the fan runs only at 25 % (silent but slow) and there is a bottleneck with memory. However once you overclock it it runs perfectly.

    Even with Aero Enabled in the background.

    Graphics Card Specs:

    Overclocked ATI SAPHIRE X1650 PRO 512 MB RAM.

    Ram and core overclocked with fan running at 75% (noisy but I have lourder speakers)

    BTW I am also an ATI fan. Their X1950 XTX owns any nVidia card except the 8800
     
    Walker, Apr 26, 2007
    #29
  10. Jason

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ASUS EN7800 GTX 250 runs everything and anything maxed out and at good or even fantastic FPS rates, but I'm in the process of trying to sell that and a couple of other things to get enough together for a higher end DX10 card, it will be a Nvidia card obviously as that is my clear choice of graphics engine.

    I run these at full on graphics mode,

    STALKER, Oblivion, Dark Messiah, CNC3 (not that it's demanding), supreme commander and of course HL2 and various and many mods for it, plus many other games which are all less demanding of the GPU and too numerous to mention.
     
    cyclic, Apr 27, 2007
    #30
  11. Jason

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scratch that last comment, okay now i have a Hd2600xt to do all the work for me. Truly a wonderful dx10 card. Also seems to run games better than the 8600s. I have a friend who has a 8600 and he constantly seems to get lag spikes and problems.
     
    Walker, Nov 26, 2007
    #31
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.