What Graphics cards work best for vista?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Jason, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    My Geforce Fx 5200 64MB can barely handle the visual styles. Anyone know what MS recommends be used for a video card? I thought I heard at leaste 256MB.
     
    Jason, Oct 8, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    Digi

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run a Geforce 6800 Go 256 Meg fine, but i have SEVERE dx9 compatibility issues, and am trying to figuare out how to force dx9 to install again.
     
    Digi, Oct 9, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Thats a nice card. I thin the compatibility issues are suppose to be fixed before release or maby even Beta 2.
     
    Jason, Oct 10, 2005
    #3
  4. Jason

    Ranukano

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Modified Radeon X600 256MB

    The drivers that it installed itself worked fine for any games and my normal settings, but on smaller resolutions and loading screens the graphics would distort.

    Only once when i had tied to install a program did it(the program)not appear at all and my screen distorted.
     
    Ranukano, Oct 12, 2005
    #4
  5. Jason

    MasterEthan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sapphire Radeon X700PRO 256MB PCIe w/DVI/TV-OUT.



    I dought your problem is the card with the Vista visuals. If you got a 64-bit processor and tried vista 64bit edition then I'm sure you'd be fine. But I recommend ATI's Radeons over nvidia right now.. who knows how nvidia will fare in the future. Mainly say go ATI because of prices fair better on ATI for the same thing. Kind of like Intel and AMD, I prefer AMD over Intel because AMD is cheaper and for the same price as an Intel you get an AMD thats better/faster and 64bit.



    thats my 37cents.
     
    MasterEthan, Oct 13, 2005
    #5
  6. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I agree ATI has been around longer, and intel has fallen behind. Their 64bit cpu sucks compared the AMD Ahtlon Xp 64
     
    Jason, Oct 16, 2005
    #6
  7. Jason

    afeher

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    ATI RADEON 9550 128 MB VIVO

    Works great but a little bit slow.
     
    afeher, Oct 16, 2005
    #7
  8. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    ATI pretty much owns if you're going for 9000-9600 series VS GeForce 5000-5900. GeForce 5xxx series has some major issues in DX.
     
    Synapse, Mar 4, 2006
    #8
  9. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Yea I have a fx 5200 64mn and it blows, im overclocking the piss out of it right now. Core + Memory. Im only overclocking for game perfomance, its runs vista perfect along w/ photoshop.
     
    Jason, Mar 5, 2006
    #9
  10. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    It runs the Vista Effects fine as well? Wow.

    What do you have it overclocked to?



    I'm running a 256 MB Powercolor ATI Radeon 9550, and ran a Radeon 9200 SE with Vista 5308, and they ran fairly smooth.



    What MS Recommends is unimportant. To run visual styles smooth, with no studder, and crisp graphics, you need a card with at LEAST 128 MB Onboard memory, and a Radeon 9000+ or GeForce 5200+. That's the only way to get the best out of the Vista experience.
     
    Synapse, Mar 6, 2006
    #10
  11. Jason

    F34R

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The entire Fx line of nvidia cards is worthless. I wouldnt suggest a video card under an ATI 9600. For anything. Not just vista, but really, anything. If you were going to purchase a new card, I'd go with at least a 6600GT (nvidia) or x800 (ATI). I personally use a 6600GT pci express and it really performs exceptionally. You can see what my clocks are in my sig, and they've bee like that for over a year now without a problem. Prices are low enough to even go with 6800GTs or the ATI equivs, x800 I think ? I'm not sure about that one though. I've been a nVidia user since I upgraded from my Voodoo 3 hehe.
     
    F34R, Mar 21, 2006
    #11
  12. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    My 9550 will beat a stock 9800SE.

    So it all depends on your mad skills.
     
    Synapse, Mar 21, 2006
    #12
  13. Jason

    vbetts

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    For ATI I'd say atleast 9200, or 9500.Nvidia, 5200 or MX4 series.Voodoo, I doubt it but probably Voodoo 5 series.Matrox, don;t know.VGI, Volari Duo8.
     
    vbetts, Apr 2, 2006
    #13
  14. Jason

    Max

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvidia 7800GTX works fine with Vista. And glass is very addictive. :)

    3DMark06 scores: 4861 (Vista build 5342 x64, driver 87.15)
     
    Max, Apr 3, 2006
    #14
  15. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Where is a good place to download 3dmark? is it free?
     
    Jason, Apr 3, 2006
    #15
  16. Jason

    Max

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Max, Apr 4, 2006
    #16
  17. Jason

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    If you need 3DMark, let me know Jason.
     
    Synapse, Apr 4, 2006
    #17
  18. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Im overclocking it pretty good and it runs stable:



    Core: 320mhz

    Memory: 528Mhz



    Before OC:

    Core: 250mhz

    Memory: 400mhz
     
    Jason, Apr 4, 2006
    #18
  19. Jason

    scott123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My system (below) runs Vista very nicely :)

    EDIT: Except there are no (working) drivers for my X-Fi card :(
     
    scott123, Jun 20, 2006
    #19
  20. Jason

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    see my sig for detials on spec ;)
     
    niffer022, Jun 21, 2006
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.