what antivirus do you use

Discussion in 'Security' started by allanb, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. allanb

    chrisscorsese88

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hilton, New York
    Mine's Avast, works great.
     
    chrisscorsese88, Oct 21, 2007
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. allanb

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    I'm using kaspersky on my notenbook now

    works great



    but for some reason it prevents .flv videos (youtube, dailymotion, etc) from loading
     
    blackhat, Nov 2, 2007
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. allanb

    jmoney3457

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    i've always found norton to be bloated..slows comps way down [yes the new 08 is better on memory than its predecessors but i'm still not totally convinced]...whenever i clean a PC of spyware/viruses (as im trained malware remover as you can see from my avatar & sig;) ) if the user has norton i tell them how bloated it is then wipe it out & put AVG FREEon it..works great on xp & vista..low on RAM & catches ALOT more viruses than norton ever could:cool:
     
    jmoney3457, Nov 15, 2007
    #43
  4. allanb

    Tinman

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    mcafee....no probs so far
     
    Tinman, Nov 24, 2007
    #44
  5. allanb

    deaf_girl

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Panda Internet Security 07 and it does great, no slow down.
     
    deaf_girl, Dec 15, 2007
    #45
  6. allanb

    half-witt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using Symantec Corp 10.2.0276 on my vista laptop, run Symantec on all my computers and never a problem. Haven't tried any other Virus software since Nortons many years ago and found it to be a pain.................

    Inspiron 1721
    Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium
    AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60, 2000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    Physical Memory (RAM)2.00 GB
     
    half-witt, Apr 7, 2008
    #46
  7. allanb

    PorPorMe

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I found out Nortons quality. I <U>HAD</U> Norton Systemworks 2007 installed. To make it short, I got into trojan trouble. Knew it at the exact moment-should have killed power. You live and learn.

    Norton Anti-Virus found 2 trojans but said they were to difficult for it to remove.:angry:

    I ran Trojan Remover which found 5 trojans and removed them all. So much for the all famous Norton.

    I now run CA Internet Security Suite-even though it's firewall is a bit of a resource hog-but also sweep with Trojan Remover, SpyWare Doctor, andSuper Anti-SpyWare Pro. I have found that they have individual strengths and weaknesses.
     
    PorPorMe, May 10, 2008
    #47
  8. allanb

    Satchel

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you used the Norton tool remover that pulls out the rest of the installation, I got it free when I got Vista and switched to Avant, didn't understand it, so when back to old standby AVG. Found it on www.kitkommando.com.
     
    Satchel, May 13, 2008
    #48
  9. allanb

    Dwarf

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Doncaster, UK
    My current antivirus solution is Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0.1.325. I have been using this since January this year. Last year, I used Norton Internet Security 2007, but had problems with it so decided to try something else this year. So far, so good - no problems yet.

    Dwarf
     
    Dwarf, May 22, 2008
    #49
  10. allanb

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I second Kaspersky, by far the best IMO. Has excellent rootkit detection and hooks all over the OS. It works somwhat like a rootkit itself to make sure it does not get subverted.
     
    Jason, Jul 29, 2009
    #50
  11. allanb

    walterius666

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avast! is free and IMO it is the best.
     
    walterius666, Oct 5, 2009
    #51
  12. allanb

    Jayshia

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use McAfee, and I still caught a virus just a moment ago. Go figure huh. Now I'm trying to figure out how to get it off! :(
     
    Jayshia, Dec 19, 2009
    #52
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.