Vista won't run or save a downloaded program

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by fb902350, Jun 6, 2008.

1. fb902350

fb902350

Hi All,

I'm new to vista, have just installedHome Premiumyesterday, and having problems already :(

Vista just simply won't run or save a program or file that I have downloaded.

I am logged on as the administator, and when I try to download a program, if I try to run it, it will download it, the progress will go to 100%, then when i click run, it just vanishes and does nothing else?? If i click to save it first, it asks me where to save it to, then just vanishes.

I have a dual core 1.8 system, 2gig ram, and a 256 graphics card.

I've had a search on the 'net and can't find this problem anywhere, Can anyone help please?

Regards, fb

fb902350, Jun 6, 2008
    1. Advertisements

2. fb902350

WAW8

Not sure what you're trying to do ...

Unless you unhid the "real" Admin account, you're not logged in as the administrator, you're logged in as a normal user.

As to downloading and running a program, the typical sequence is you download something, install the application, reboot, and then run the application from the Start menu entry. If you're just downloading and running something, it's most likely an installer package. If that's the case, you need to right-click on the file you downloaded and select "Run as administrator". That will grant temporary elevated rights and install the application.

If you're just downloading something that's an executable, give me an example so I can try that out and see what happens.

WAW8, Jun 6, 2008
    1. Advertisements

3. fb902350

robotman