vista will not start

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by joshuac, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. joshuac

    joshuac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    right i have a gateway ma7 or somin

    its out of wranty and i hav no cds

    it will start up but then nout happons exept starting windos bit then blanck screen :eek::eek::eek: the pic is it a copple of mounths ago
     

    Attached Files:

    joshuac, Jan 13, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. joshuac

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    IF it came preloaded with Vista, there should be a Function Key you can press to bring up Startup Repair. These are typically F10 or F11 -- but they vary by make and model PC.

    Also, you can try booting into SAFE mode, disabling all your startup items, and see if you can then reboot to a normal desktop.
     
    WAW8, Jan 13, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. joshuac

    joshuac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant get boot in safe mode or anythinlike that
     
    joshuac, Jan 14, 2011
    #3
  4. joshuac

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Well .. lacking any CDs, you have only a couple of useful options at this point:
    1) Find out the precise make and model of the laptop, go to the Gateway site, look up that make and model, and look for a FAQ or downloadable manual -- that will give you info on the keys to press to invoke restore.
    2) Contact Gateway and see if they will sell you a set of full-restore Vista CDs.

    Either of these will restore your laptop to it's original condition. If you want to save any files or data, you will need to do that before you do the restore.
     
    WAW8, Jan 14, 2011
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.