Vista will not let me access 2nd internal HDD

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by lilybella, Feb 16, 2011.

1. lilybella

lilybella

I'm a retired designer who still does small jobs for a few clients. I am shuttling back and forth between my mac and my PC, and I was back on the PC searching for some graphics files directories I know I have (or had). Then it hit me... the second HDD inside the PC is not showing up in Explorer. It shows up in the BIOS just fine, but not in Explorer. It also shows up in Device Manager correctly (ST3320620AS ATA Device) a Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM. This is a 320 GB HDD, loaded with a few years of work, so I cannot reformat using Vista. And yes... it did work just fine in Windows XP previously with all the service packs and other Windows OS's before that. I see that this is a fairly common topic in Google, but I don't see any easy fixes or maybe I'm missing something. I'm hoping that someone with a lot more smarts than I has the answer and its not going to be too difficult.

I did check on Seagate's website to see if maybe there's a special driver for Vista? Nothing found there. I upgraded this past Fall to Vista Home Premium and in between the raindrops I figured the drive would eventually "show up" as I've enabled updates as needed. But now that the holidays are over I have a little time to get this fixed and I'd like to do that without losing my accumulated client's artwork.

Don't really understand why Vista acts differently than all previous versions of Windows which automatically recognized all internal hardware like drives. Is this a glitch in Vista? Well... hopefully someone will throw me a bone and help me out.

lilybella, Feb 16, 2011
    1. Advertisements

2. lilybella

clifford_cooley

Hi lilybella - Welcome to vistaforums

Check Administrator Tools >> Disk Management and see if there is a drive letter assigned to the drive.

clifford_cooley, Feb 16, 2011
    1. Advertisements

3. lilybella

lilybella