Vista Ultimate 64bit

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by Opteronguy, Jan 30, 2008.

1. Opteronguy

Opteronguy

So I am finally going to purchase a copy of Vista Ultimate, however the big debate for me has been whether to go with 64bit or 32bit. I work in the IT industry so I am familiar with all the concepts and what not, my worry is more about Vista being able to handle 32bit apps well in a native 64bit OS. I've read various things about how 64bit has come a long way since it first was released and that people are having very few problems any more.

So what is the opinion of 64bit around here? Generally at home I tend to game mostly and work on my network engineering stuff, besides the normal surf the web, email, etc etc.

I'm not worried about if my system can handle Vista or not. Here are the base system specs:

Athlon 64 X2 5000 BE @ 3.0ghz

GeForce 8800 GTS 320 - Which might turn into an AMD Radeon 3870 x2 if I don't do SLI

Asus M2N SLI deluxe

4GB RAM

Opteronguy, Jan 30, 2008
    1. Advertisements

2. Opteronguy

WAW8

I don't use 64-bit myself, primarily due to the almost total lack of drivers and support when it first came out. But since then, it has matured dramatically.

With 64-bit, you'll have full access to all 4GB of your memory.

64-bit also provides a built-in 32-bit emulator, so you'll still be able to run 32-bit SW.

If I were to install fresh today, I'd go for the 64-bit version.

See the link below for some more info:

[url]http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5709 [/url]

WAW8, Jan 31, 2008
    1. Advertisements

3. Opteronguy

Opteronguy

So looking at the gaming side of it, since 64bit is going to be emulating the 32bit side of things, are games like UT3, CoD4, BF2, etc, taking a big hit in performance?

Also, thanks for the link to that site, that is something I've been looking for for a while now.

Opteronguy, Jan 31, 2008
  4. Opteronguy

WAW8