Vista Media Centre Running Slow

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by mattykellyuk, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. mattykellyuk

    mattykellyuk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have had vista home premium for a few months, but now it running very slow in full screen, in a window its fine but when in full screen it nearly unusable. In full screen audio sounds echoy and the running just seems as tho the cpu usage is too high.

    im running:

    Pentium D 30GHz (Duall Core)

    2Gb Ram

    Nvidia 7300GS

    300gb



    Thanks

    Matt
     
    mattykellyuk, Apr 25, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mattykellyuk

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Open up task manager (ctrl+shift+esc) and got to processes tab, and disable anything that is using alot of CPU (NOT anything microsoft, ie system idle process is to be left)
     
    kingofnexus, Apr 27, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mattykellyuk

    mattykellyuk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi thanks did that but none of them took up anything signifant cpu, any other ideas, tried closing all my background programs like messenger and widgets, still no luck.

    thanks

    matt
     
    mattykellyuk, Apr 29, 2007
    #3
  4. mattykellyuk

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    OK try this to narrow down the problem:

    Open up task manager, got to performance tab and drag a side of the window so that it is wide. Then open media centre and navigate the menus and watch TV for a about 3 seconds. Then close media centre, print screen the task manger, and upload the file onto here.

    This wil help me to find out (or eliminate) whether it is a CPU/Memory issue.
     
    kingofnexus, May 1, 2007
    #4
  5. mattykellyuk

    mattykellyuk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry cant figure out how to add images?
     
    mattykellyuk, May 3, 2007
    #5
  6. mattykellyuk

    mattykellyuk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi thanks for interet nvidia just released new driver that sorted problems.

    really good of you to take an interest

    thanks again

    matt
     
    mattykellyuk, May 3, 2007
    #6
  7. mattykellyuk

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    No problem and glad to here you have is sorted!
     
    kingofnexus, May 4, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.