Vista is not detecting a microphone

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Tsar, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Tsar

    Tsar

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, when I plug my microphone into the in-put plug-in infront of my PC, since I haven't got any mic plug-ins in the back, my Vista doesn't detect any microphones at all, but my headphones work perfectly, from the front plug-in aswell.

    Time of this report: 2/14/2011, 16:28:48
    Machine name: JEGORZ-PC
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.101014-0432)
    Language: Russian (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
    System Model: Dell XPS420
    BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A06
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
    Memory: 3326MB RAM
    Page File: 1320MB used, 5521MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 32bit Unicode

    -
    Description: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7618&SUBSYS_10280215&REV_1002
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/11/2009 04:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Description: Digital Output Device (SPDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7618&SUBSYS_10280215&REV_1002
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/11/2009 04:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Description: Digital Output Device (HDMI) (2- High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1002&DEV_AA01&SUBSYS_00AA0100&REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/11/2009 04:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    [​IMG]
    (click on the image, to make it bigger)

    I am not sure what kind of sound card I got, either Realtek or SigmaTel or even Intel. Guys, do you know how can I make my mic to work. My mic is 100% working, since I've checked it on my other PC.

    Thanks.
     
    Tsar, Feb 14, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tsar

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Tsar - Welcome to vistaforums. :)

    The Hardware ID: above seems to suggest you have a SigmaTel audio device.

    Which computer do you have? Dell, Gateway, or ???
     
    clifford_cooley, Feb 14, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tsar

    Tsar

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dell XPS420
     
    Tsar, Feb 14, 2011
    #3
  4. Tsar

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    clifford_cooley, Feb 14, 2011
    #4
  5. Tsar

    Tsar

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't help. It gives me an error. It is on russian somewhy, but I've translated it for you.
    What is says is: There is no object describing the device. Restart your system and start the installation process again. Something like that, it can be spelled differently. I've restarted it, but it keeps giving me same error. This is wierd. :(
     
    Tsar, Feb 14, 2011
    #5
  6. Tsar

    alyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a thought but do you have the correct mike setting in the sound dialogue box?
     
    alyboy, Aug 7, 2011
    #6
  7. Tsar

    Ambient13

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try any of the following?

    Right-click the sound button on the system tray. Then click Recording Devices and check if the mic is listed as "working" and also set it as default. Right click it and select properties, then advanced, and restore defaults.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Ambient13, Sep 25, 2011
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.