Vista installs, but doesn't boot

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Dream3R, May 2, 2007.

  1. Dream3R

    Dream3R

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allright this is what happens, i installed vista ultimate on the C partition, when it was done it worked perfectly, but when i reboot my pc it isn't able to start vista. i get a couple of lines before it tries to boot in DOS and then it just restarts my computer again...

    why ?

    my computer specs are:

    MSI P965 Neo
    Intel Pentium 4HT Inside (3Ghz, 800Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 Cache)
    Dual Ram 1024MB DDR 2
    e-GeForce 7600 GT
    HD1: Maxtor 60gb (partion C: 15gb.) (partition D: 45gb.)
    HD2: Maxtor 40gb (partition E: 40gb.)
     
    Dream3R, May 2, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dream3R

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay 3 things:

    -Vista comes with 2 DVD's , make sure you have installed the right one, I don't think your processor can run 64 bit

    -Have you tried reinstalling?

    -Is your version a Release Candidate?
     
    Walker, May 2, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dream3R

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    15g is kind of a small partition for Vista. I also dont think P4 is a 64bit. Is HD1 set as the master?
     
    VistaRocks, May 2, 2007
    #3
  4. Dream3R

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes 15 G is too small. I have Vista installed on a 24G partition and starting to feel the pain. And that is with minimum number of installed programs.
     
    Walker, May 2, 2007
    #4
  5. Dream3R

    Dream3R

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    problem is solved allready, and no 15gb isnt to small it runs very smooth, and my pentium is 64bit so i didnt use the wrong dvd or anything else, i just restored to a early state on my computer and fixed it..
     
    Dream3R, May 3, 2007
    #5
  6. Dream3R

    Walker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dream my point is that some data will be added to your vista partition without you really wanting, updates etc., so it will soon use up all 15 gigs and maybe ask for more... it was never a question of running smoothly.
     
    Walker, May 3, 2007
    #6
  7. Dream3R

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Like said, w/ 15G's it's gona beat tight when you hibernate, page, or install program files. Mines on 35G's and I've only got 5 G's left after all my programs were installed. Just a heads up.
     
    Jason, May 3, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.