Vista installation hangs during Product Key

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by mjthomas, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. mjthomas

    mjthomas

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased a new hard drive (EIDE)and was installing Windows Vista from scratch. I formatted my hard drive, and started the install. However, as the programis installing, it hangs right after I enter my product key. I KNOW the key is valid as I purchased it from Fry's Electronics. I have tried everything I can think of, to inlcude reformatting the hard drive and starting over again, all to no avail.

    PLEASE HELP!!!
     
    mjthomas, Aug 24, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mjthomas

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    One of my copies of Home Basic hangs right at the beginning of the installafter selecting install now i get the hour glass/please wait then nothing. It will sit there for hours unless i take the disk out then reinsert it then after a few seconds of seeking the installation continues as normal.

    You could also try not entering the product key during the initial installthen re-installing from within Vista and entering your key at that time. (Basically upgrading an existing copy of Vista)
     
    AmericanNightmare, Aug 24, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mjthomas

    mjthomas

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that (without the product key) and it still hangs. I checked all of my cables inside, and reset my memory, all to no avail. I even replacedthe data cables for the hard drives. This is unreal. I have built so many computers in the last ten years, but I have never had this problem.
     
    mjthomas, Aug 25, 2007
    #3
  4. mjthomas

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Cold you be more specific as to your HW config. possibly it's an issue specific to a certain component? Any specific component you have not dealt with in the past? I know it's a long shot.......
     
    AmericanNightmare, Aug 25, 2007
    #4
  5. mjthomas

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I've personally found that the Vista upgrade advisor has been a complete waste of time. I had to do a LOT of post-installation updating to get my box to work -- even though the advisor told me I would have no problems.



    I've seen reports that removing all USB devices, rebooting, and then installing Vista is a workaround to this problem. Had to do with obsolete device drivers for the connected USB devices.
     
    WAW8, Aug 27, 2007
    #5
  6. mjthomas

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Indeed, I ignore it's nonsense and try anyway to rely on my own comon sense in that matter.
     
    AmericanNightmare, Aug 27, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.