Vista Home Premium Now, Upgrade Through Anytime Upgrade to Vista Ultimate

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by MetFan, May 28, 2007.

1. MetFan

MetFan

Got my son a Dell E 1505 laptop for college. He leaves in 3 weeks. It has Vista home premium, the school does not support Vista, but says he needs business or ultimate to work properly on the servers. I do not want business because he loses X Box stuff and a few other things, i was looking online at anytime upgrade. We do not have a disc for it. I noticed i can purchase a disc for $7.00 when i purchase the upgrade, then it has you download a file. Will i wait until the disc arrives and then do the upgrade?? Is it easy?? I am not good with computers, and i hope if this is the easiest way (the price at $170.00 is the least expensive). Will it just be installing disc, all very unclear, just want it to be easy and set up before he leaves for school..Thanks in advance!!

:crazy:

MetFan, May 28, 2007
    1. Advertisements

2. MetFan

WAW8

Why does your son feel he needs business or ultimate? The "enterprise" features of those are intended for corporate environments where machines are hooked into mail, database, and application servers, usually through a domain infrastructure. I seriously doubt the school is operating such an environment -- especially since you said that they don't support Vista.

The anytime upgrade is supposed to be a simple process of paying a fee, downloading a file, running the update, and upon an eventual reboot, you have the upgraded version. But honestly, I've not done this myself -- perhaps one of the other moderators has and can comment on this. I have done several different Vista installs and upgrades and not a single one went without serious problems of some kind.

Have you checked to see if there is a local warranty facility that will do the upgrade? At least that way, you would have an experienced tech doing the work -- which would minimize the possibility of problems.