Vista beta 2 ATI Radeon 9550 driver

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by kshitij, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. kshitij

    kshitij

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have built a new system with

    Motherboard: ASUS A8V Deluxe

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200

    RAM: 1 GB

    HDD: WD 160GB ATA

    Video: Diamond Stealth S120 ATI Radeon 9550 AGP 8x



    Vista beta 2 shows blue screen and reboots on this system.

    I cannot open any windows or display settings dialog.

    Sometime it immediately crashes after logon.



    My old nVidia GeForce MX 4000 does not give this problem.



    Vista autodetects and installs MS Provided Radeon 9550 driver (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM)

    But ATI's catalyst driver for Vista beta 2 fails to identify the card.



    Anybody know of the driver for making this ATI card work on my system.
     
    kshitij, Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kshitij

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Here's what I'd do. Go search the net for a Video Bios flash for your specific card. A 9550 is just a downclocked 9600. Flash the Diamond Stealth 9550 to a 9600, and try again. I did it with my Powercolor 9550, and it worked fine.
     
    Synapse, Aug 22, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kshitij

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Why buy a x2 4200 CPU and 1GB ram and then put in an ati 9550? You must be bonkers!
     
    kingofnexus, Aug 23, 2006
    #3
  4. kshitij

    kshitij

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.



    I can try flashing Video BIOS if I can be sure that 9600 doesn't have any such issues

    I know that there are some harware level conflicts between ATI Cards and ASUS VIA motherboards.



    And for choice of ATI 9550, I am not a gaming freak so don't like to spend too much on graphics card. Even a onboard graphics card will be sufficient for me. I just wanted to try new VISA UI so grabbed the one that supports AERO.
     
    kshitij, Aug 24, 2006
    #4
  5. kshitij

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Cant be that many problems, I've ran a 9000, a 9200, and a 9550/9600 in my desktop which is an ASUS K8V-X mobo with VIA Chipset and have had 0 problems, so....
     
    Synapse, Aug 29, 2006
    #5
  6. kshitij

    Todd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 9600 has the same problem.
     
    Todd, Aug 29, 2006
    #6
  7. kshitij

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    The drivers ms supplies, do they work? I have an ati 1900xtx and i have not installed ati catalyst because i dont play games on vista, and i know ms's driver works fine (been using it for months now after a reformat). The only game i play on vista is UT2004 which work 100% no problems. All other games and 3D moddeling apps i run on my XP partition as nothin seems to be compatible with dx 10 - 3dsmax 8 just crashes in vista.
     
    kingofnexus, Sep 4, 2006
    #7
  8. kshitij

    Eljest

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to be a noob but is this in VIsta RC1? If so how did u get the 9000 running?
     
    Eljest, Sep 15, 2006
    #8
  9. kshitij

    Spyvie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver


    I had 5536 and 5600 running on a K8V/9200SE box just fine with the MS drivers, no Glass though... the 9000, 9200 and 9250s are DX8 cards.



    I bought an AGP128M Geforce 6200 for $33 from the egg and now Glass run like a champ on that box.
     
    Spyvie, Sep 15, 2006
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.