Vista Beta 2 5384 x64: black - blank screen problem

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by test02, Jun 25, 2006.

  1. test02

    test02

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone.



    I have a problem with a new installation of Windows Vista beta 2 build 5384 x64.

    After the installation the PC booted in normal mode, but I see only a blank screen without any cursor or information. I am able to boot into safe mode (I managed to install the nVidia 88.61 from there) and log on, but when I reboot into normal mode I can't see anything appearing on screen.

    I also tried to manually update the driver from the Device Manager in safe mode and nothing. I tried even to boot in "Allow unsafe drivers to load" but no gain.



    Here are my specs:

    Athlon X2 4800+

    2 GB RAM

    MSI K8N Diamond

    2 GeForce 7800 GTX (SLi config)

    2 Seagate Barracuda (300 GB each)



    Thanks!!
     
    test02, Jun 25, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. test02

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Have you tried the latest nvidia drivers, loading them in safe mode?
     
    Jason, Jun 25, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. test02

    test02

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded the latest drivers available from HERE, the 88.61 for Vista x64. Which ones shold I try? Maybe the betas? but which one?



    Thanks in advance...
     
    test02, Jun 26, 2006
    #3
  4. test02

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Jason, Jun 26, 2006
    #4
  5. test02

    test02

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly, I have now installed the 88.61 release but no way...
     
    test02, Jun 26, 2006
    #5
  6. test02

    scott123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    One thing you might try providing you have a mouse pointer. Right click in the middle of the screen, and select properties. Now choose screen saver and make sure you have one selected. Then choose to "preview" the screen saver. After the screen saver starts, then wiggle the mouse. This should give you the normal desktop and icons.

    I've had the problem occur about every 5-10 boot-ups and it works for me.
     
    scott123, Jun 26, 2006
    #6
  7. test02

    test02

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is that I cannot see even the pointer, and now the screen is becoming somewhat unstable. It is like the driver is changing the resolution many times...
     
    test02, Jun 27, 2006
    #7
  8. test02

    test02

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE: I did as written in the 88.61 Nvidia drivers for Vista Beta 2 release notes, but no luck
     
    test02, Jun 27, 2006
    #8
  9. test02

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Have you tried going into safe mode, and changing your theme to the classic one, rolling back the Nvidia drivers so vista can use its default ones?



    What kind of display are you using?
     
    Jason, Jun 27, 2006
    #9
  10. test02

    pendragoninc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is SLI. Vista beta has been officially confirmed to not support SLI (yeah i know, whats the point then right?). If you can bear the tragedy, remove on of those 7800's from your rig and you'll runnin Vista.
     
    pendragoninc, Jun 28, 2006
    #10
  11. test02

    Kasalic

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm that this is the issue.

    Removal of one of my cards resolved the issue.
     
    Kasalic, Jul 8, 2006
    #11
  12. test02

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Nice info, thats quite stupid and will probably piss Nvidia off. I know SLi is a new configuration which used to only be available through AMD cpu's, and now Nvidia has made it stable enough. But what exactly is the difference?
     
    Jason, Jul 8, 2006
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.