Unknown issue with vista

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by cheynems, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. cheynems

    cheynems

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I'll start by posting the computer specs

    OS: Vista Home Basic

    Processor: Intel Celeron D 3.33 GHz

    Memory: 885 Mb

    Video Card: GeForce FX 5200 with onboard ATI Radeon

    Ok, now for the issue. When restarting the computer, no signal is sent to monitor and it will not turn on. It immediately goes from having a green light to an orange light. The only solution I have found to this problem is to leave the computer off with the power supply unplugged for a few hours. Does anyone know the problem and/or a permenant solution? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    -Cheyne
     
    cheynems, Sep 7, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cheynems

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Could be several things.
    1. <LI>Bad CMOS battery</LI><LI>Bad power supply</LI><LI>Bad RAM</LI><LI>Incorrect settings in BIOS</LI><LI>Bad CPU</LI>

    I think the most likely is incorrect BIOS settings somwhere. Go into the BIOS and set everything to default.

    This list could go on for quite awhile...Have you attempted any overclocking or messed with the BIOS recently?

    Try clearing the CMOS as wellif you don't know how get back to us and someone will walk you through it.
     
    AmericanNightmare, Sep 8, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cheynems

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    it could also be a broken monitor (or cable)

    hook your computer up a different monitor



    if that doesn't work you should reset the bios

    since you don't have a monitor the only way to do this is leaving the cmos-battery out for 10-15 minutes
     
    blackhat, Sep 8, 2007
    #3
  4. cheynems

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resetting the BIOS will usually turn the onboard graphics on by default, unless your board works by auto detecting an AGP card in it's slot to disable the onboard, you will need to change the onboard graphics setting to disable it and initialize the AGP slot as the primary graphics, also make sure the card is fully seated, evena slight unseating can cause it to not respond.
     
    cyclic, Sep 8, 2007
    #4
  5. cheynems

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Lots of problems as mentioned before can cause it. I think its a GPU or PSU problem. Also try hooking your computer up to a different monitor, or through VGA rather than DVI (or vice versa).
     
    kingofnexus, Sep 8, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.