Unknown Device

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Guest, Feb 23, 2006.

  1. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Hi everyone I am having a little problem with device manager, I have vista 32bit build 5270 with an nforce2 motherboard. The problem is there is a unknown device PCI showing in device manager, I can't seem to find out what its for I've installed all the drivers I can think of that i need, so if anyone can help would be greatly appreciated.



    Thanks
     
    Guest, Feb 23, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Guest

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Have you tried right clicking on it and going to proprities? What port is it on? The question mark, or what section is it under.
     
    Jason, Mar 1, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its under other devices in device manager, all the information i can find out in the properties dialog, is that it is an unknown device on the pci bus andon the details tab the hardware Ids are:

    ACPI\PNPB02F

    *PNPB02F

    Thanks
     
    vistauser, Mar 11, 2006
    #3
  4. Guest

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Is it possible to narrow down what devices arnt working on your computer? Like lan/graphics card drivers/wirless/keypad?
     
    Jason, Mar 11, 2006
    #4
  5. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I've installed these drivers.

    Asus A7N8X-X Motherboard - Onboard sound works withXP driverbut the icon in the system tray for the configuration application nor the application work. Onboard LAN would not work with the nvidia nforce2LAN Vista beta driver nor theXP driver, so I have disable it in the bios.

    ATI Radeon 9550 AGP 8x - Using the default driverwith Vista "RADEON 9550 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM)" driver. Seems to all work fine including aero glass etc.

    802.11g Wireless PCI card - Again seems to work ok.

    Any ideas?
     
    vistauser, Mar 12, 2006
    #5
  6. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also forgot to mention the vista sound driveron nvidia's websitewill not work.
     
    vistauser, Mar 12, 2006
    #6
  7. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody got any idea's? :hehe:
     
    vistauser, Mar 16, 2006
    #7
  8. Guest

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    My Guess is its the Lan hardware which is putting up that question mark, even tho you turned if off in the bios. It seems like that is what it causing it since its the only thing not working. I duno, its really hard to tell w/out being at the computer. Either way does it really matter if you know what is causing it as long as everything works?
     
    Jason, Mar 16, 2006
    #8
  9. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, but I don't think it could be the LAN, whenI enable it in the bios it appears in device manager as well as the unknown device. Do you think it could be a secondary driver for my ati 9550 agp for dual monitor support?
     
    vistauser, Mar 16, 2006
    #9
  10. Guest

    vistauser

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi should I have a MCP driver in device manager under sound and game controllers because I'm almost sure in XP I use to have one, at the moment I only have drivers for nvidia nforce audio codec interface and nvidia nforce midi uart. Also should I be able to set levels for sound card inputs like you can in XP?
     
    vistauser, Mar 16, 2006
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.