Uninstalling Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by sfzab, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. sfzab

    sfzab

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced an Asus M2N-SLI mobo for an Asus M3N-HT Deluxe Series mobo that has Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit installed on the SATA 1 HD. On the SATA 2 HD opensuse linux 11.1 is installed.



    When I booted for the first time the Asus M3N-HT Deluxe Series the Windows Vista Home Premium ran well, and I did not have any problems reactivating the operating system. I did had problems with opensuse linux 11.1, but after reinstalling it again on the second HD drive it also works well.



    I bought a Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit Installation DVD, but I cannot install it. How can I uninstall Windows Vista Premium 32-bit so that the new 64-bit version will install properly on the SATA 1 HD?



    I tried to use latest gparted version {the gnome partition editor} to delete the Windows operating system partition, but it fails to run on the PC. The new motherboard has 4 X 1GB memory modules, and the CPU is an AMD AM2+ 7750 Dual-Core processor.



    I do not know if there any other alternate ways to solve this situation.



    Your kind assistance will be highly regarded.
     
    sfzab, Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sfzab

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    If you tried running GParted from a Linux version LiveCD, was the CD able to detect the drives? OR did you try running GParted from inside SUSE?



    Either way, your best bet is to download and burn a GParted LiveCD or a Parted Magic Live CD (both available from distrowatch.com), boot with either of those, and use those to remove the Windows partition.
     
    WAW8, Jun 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sfzab

    sfzab

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0


    On the Asus M3N-HT Deluxe Series motherboard with an AMD AM2+ 7750 Dual-Core processor that I am using the GParted screens will run well up to this one:



    Which mode do you prefer?

    (0) Continue to start x to use GParted automatically



    (0) 0 {enter}



    Then an error message appears onscreen that reads:



    74.5 KHZ / 59.6 HZ

    FREQUENCY OUT OF RANGE

    TRY OTHER RESOLUTIONS



    The monitor is a 15" KDS USA CRT.



    Fortunately, Parted Magic 4.2 (2009) does not present the above problem. I did not have any kind of problems navigating through the different icons that it has.



    Thank you very much for your valuable advice.
     
    sfzab, Jun 23, 2009
    #3
  4. sfzab

    sfzab

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    After running GParted Magic and deleting the prior Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit partition to install then Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit the following message appeared onscreen at a certain point



    The installation was cancelled

    Any changes that were made to your computer during the installation process will not be saved.



    Install Windows

    Windows cannot open the required file D:\Sources\Install.wim. Make sure all files required for installation are available, and restart the installation. Error code: 0x800700D



    .......................................................................................................................................................................................................OK



    Can the error 0x800700D be corrected?
     
    sfzab, Jun 24, 2009
    #4
  5. sfzab

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Have only seen two situations in which this was easily corrected.



    1) 4 RAM sticks. If it's a pre-SP1 version of Vista, it may not install with 4 sticks of RAM, especially if they total more than 2GB. Have to remove two sticks and retry.



    2) If it's an IDE drive, some folks still use 40-pin cables instead of the new 80-pin. But I believe you said your drives were SATA, so that shouldn't matter.



    The only other thing that comes to mind is that the DVD is scratched.
     
    WAW8, Jun 25, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.