Unable to view all network components after adding Vista x64

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by hvrossum, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am running a network with1 XP machine, 1 Linux machine, 1 Linksys Printserver,1 Vista 32bit and 1 Vista x64 machine.

    The x64 machine was the last one I added to this private network. Since this moment I can't view my network components like the xp machine, linux and printserver.

    I checked that the LTTP protocol is activated, and the network name is correct and it is private network.

    However I can't get it to work. Any ideas

    Thanks

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hvrossum

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Can you access each of the computer directly by typing in their Ip address in My Computer?

    eg \\192.168.0.2\
     
    kingofnexus, Jul 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    With Ping I can reach the other components,

    Als with HTTP I can make a connection to the Linksys printserver.

    I am able to see the swith and router in the network.

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 5, 2007
    #3
  4. hvrossum

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Jason, Jul 5, 2007
    #4
  5. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I checked the workgroup, and it is the same

    Pinging all components no problem.

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 5, 2007
    #5
  6. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also when I do the NET VIEW command on the prompt I get an error message

    System error 53

    Network path not found

    Don't know if this has a relation, but figured it could be usefull when trying to solve the issue with eachother

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 5, 2007
    #6
  7. hvrossum

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Jason, Jul 5, 2007
    #7
  8. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the topic you pointed out.

    All is according to what is explained in the topic.

    But I can't see the components from both the x63 Vista and 32 bit Vista since I installed the X64 Vista in the network. (I cab see the vista machines from an xp machine, but not the other way round)

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 5, 2007
    #8
  9. hvrossum

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Disable windows firewall and any other firewalls on the XP machines. I had a simaler problem as I could see and connect to my vista machine from XP but not the other way round. Turned out both McAfee and windows firewall were both blocking it out.
     
    kingofnexus, Jul 7, 2007
    #9
  10. hvrossum

    hvrossum

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    We keep on trying all kinds of things. Somehow the network is fine.

    I can make networkconnections through IP adresses, no problem.

    I checked that all firewals and anti virus software was off. I can easily make a connection to the X64 Vista machine ( I took the X32 Vista machine out) from the XP machines.

    Can also make a connection the otherway around based on the IP adress. But can't view them in the network neighbourhoud.

    Strange

    Harry
     
    hvrossum, Jul 7, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.