Unable to open downloaded executables

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by FlynHawn, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. FlynHawn

    FlynHawn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I got a free HP Pavilion dv6000 laptop from my roommate which had Vista Home Premium on it and was very laggy. I uninstalled a number of useless programs I didn't need & installed a few I thought I would need such as A/V, anti-malware & an updated Firefox. I then installed SP1, SP2, Platform Update & Platform Update Supplement.

    I wanted to install CCleaner & a defrag program, but have been unable to open any of the programs in my download folder since patching the OS. At first I thought it was a known bug with CCleaner; however I found an article on Microsoft.com regarding this issue & followed the steps to recreate my Temp folder. That article can be found here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/932142

    I have tried a couple different defrag programs, but am still unable to open the downloaded executable in any way - double clicking, right clicking, run as administrator, using the open command from the shell - nothing works. If I absolutely have to I will use the built-in defrag tool, but am reluctant to have it spend hours defragging my HDD.

    Any suggestions?
     
    FlynHawn, Jul 7, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. FlynHawn

    FlynHawn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I found another MS article dealing with this problem. It can be found here:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2688326

    I opened Regedit as instructed by the article, however in Step 6 it states to locate the registry key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile

    There is no such key in my registry! So does this mean I have to create it?
     
    FlynHawn, Jul 7, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. FlynHawn

    -CosmicEternity-

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Margate, UK
    Yes, you will need to create it.
    I can send you the relevant key information if you like in a .reg file via PM if you like, by the way.
     
    -CosmicEternity-, Aug 28, 2016
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.