SVCHOST.EXE (rpcrt4.dll) is taking up 50% of CPU POWER on both CPUS! HELP

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by norcimo, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. norcimo

    norcimo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have under a SVCHOST.exe two instances of RPCRT4.DLL killing my DUAL CORE AMD X2 CPU.

    I'm using procexp.exe to find what was causing the extreme slowdown. I found this background task running up the the CPU TIME.

    RPCRT4.DLL!UuidCreate+0x1bdb, this runs 3 times.. and 2 of them hit the cpu over 25 % each for a total of 50% and sometimes more 55-60% of cpu time.. while the computer is doing nothing.

    If I kill this process, applications cease to function by immediatly stopping to work.

    I need help.. My computer feels like a 486. Here is my system config.

    OS NameMicrosoft® Windows Vista™ Business
    Version6.0.6000 Build 6000
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS ManufacturerMicrosoft Corporation
    System NameFAC4600X2
    System Manufacturer939M2
    System Model939Dual-SATA2
    System TypeX86-based PC
    ProcessorAMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, 2449 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/DateAmerican Megatrends Inc. P1.80, 4/26/2006
    SMBIOS Version2.3
    Windows DirectoryC:\Windows
    System DirectoryC:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device\Device\HarddiskVolume1
    LocaleUnited States
    Hardware Abstraction LayerVersion = "6.0.6000.16386"
    User Name??????????
    Time ZoneEastern Standard Time
    Total Physical Memory2,046.69 MB
    Available Physical Memory1.31 GB
    Total Virtual Memory2.67 GB
    Available Virtual Memory1.87 GB
    Page File Space768.00 MB
    Page FileD:\pagefile.sys

    NameULi SATA/RAID Controller (M1689/M1567)
    ManufacturerULi Electronics Inc.
    StatusOK
    PNP Device IDPCI\VEN_10B9&DEV_5289&SUBSYS_52891849&REV_10\3&267A616A&0&91
    I/O Port0x0000EC00-0x0000EC07
    I/O Port0x0000E880-0x0000E883
    I/O Port0x0000E800-0x0000E807
    I/O Port0x0000E480-0x0000E483
    I/O Port0x0000E400-0x0000E40F
    IRQ ChannelIRQ 19
    Driverc:\windows\system32\drivers\m5289.sys (5.0.3.0, 51.25 KB (52,480 bytes), 2/20/2007 11:47 PM)
     
    norcimo, Feb 26, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. norcimo

    Antrax

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    rpcrt4.dll is the Remote Procedure Call (RPC) API, used by Windows applications for network and Internet communication. I know of instances in XP where this filehas been replaced byspyware and causes symtoms that you describe, but not heard anything about it in Vista though. Have you tried your antivirus/spyware program yet?
     
    Antrax, Feb 27, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. norcimo

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Hmm odd, ona side note, i have 12 svchosts.exe running.
     
    kingofnexus, Feb 27, 2007
    #3
  4. norcimo

    norcimo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, first thing i did. (XOFTSPY) It found that "winload.exe ", it appears like a keylogger type, but when reality it is not..it is a legit exe by MS. No other things has come up. Then again , (xoftspy) might not be a good checker for vista.. What do you recommend?
     
    norcimo, Feb 27, 2007
    #4
  5. norcimo

    Antrax

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multiple svchost running is fine, progams run multiple instances of these. There may be some other spyware/virus that is using rpcrt.dll to access the net.

    Try a netstat command when you are connected to the net with just one webpage open.

    press winkey + r and then type CMD, then type netstat -ab" on the command line and see what you get.

    You are looking for something like this:

    TCP Compname: 1528 localhost:1529 ESTABLISHED 2454

    How many established connections are there, and how many listening?
     
    Antrax, Feb 27, 2007
    #5
  6. norcimo

    paul

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hae you tried ending that process? if not i seriusly think you may have a bugged version of vista. you need to run antivirus preferbly nod32 if not mcaphe but you must turn off the AV in vista first google install antivirus on vista and youl get the directions to go to get it to accept AV
     
    paul, Mar 1, 2007
    #6
  7. norcimo

    norcimo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Guys, Thanks for all your Help.

    I fixed the issue.

    Since this copy was an upgrade from my XP, I decided to install a new fresh clean

    upgrade, killing all the settings of the old one.

    This fixed the problem.. Right know I'm cleaning up the mess it left in my drive. I copied myemail profiles and documents, plus some other program files that still work fine without reinstallation.

    My cpu barely breaks over 3-6 % idle. It's so FAST! I topped 5.9 on the index, I guessthat the OC bus and CPU really take advantage of the 500mhz DDR (yeah 1st generation) I have OCZ platimun chips of 2gigs paired 500mhz specs. I had to "up" the FSB so that I can aleast run the memory close to 500mhz. (498).

    Thank for all your help.
     
    norcimo, Mar 2, 2007
    #7
  8. norcimo

    ICBlueSkies

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ICBlueSkies, Mar 11, 2007
    #8
  9. norcimo

    xTmEs

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!!!

    I'm having the same problem with the rpcrt4.dll... only happens when im using Media player!!! and its sux because the song start jumping like when you have a slow pc...

    The processor go to 100% full load...

    Im using Windows Vista Home Premium.. in a Dell E1505, Core 2 duo 2.0ghz, 2gb of ram...

    I dont want to format it... this is a bug??? did microsoft fix this issue?

    PLEASE HELP!!!

    Thanks
    xTmEs
     
    xTmEs, May 6, 2007
    #9
  10. norcimo

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.


    Is it an upgrade or full version? I have full version and i dont see that file in my prosesses. Have you tried stoping it to see what happens?
     
    VistaRocks, May 6, 2007
    #10
  11. norcimo

    xTmEs

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!!
    Its a full version of Vista, it cames with the laptop.... that process is under a svchost.exe you can find it using procexp.exe... (www.sysinternals.com)

    i found this at microsoft but i don't think that's the problem.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/899148

    i'm looking info in the web... if i find something that correct the problem i will post it.

    Thanks..
    xTmEs
     
    xTmEs, May 6, 2007
    #11
  12. norcimo

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Just turn off the RPC service.



    How to disable a service:



    1. Click on the Start Pearl

    2. Type services.msc in the search box

    3. You might be prompted by a UAC box. Click continue, or learn how to disable it here.

    4. Right click a service, and choose Stop to stop it immediately

    5. For some services you are unable to stop it until after reboot. Simply right click and

    choose properties.properties.jpg

    6. Then select disable from the drop-down menu.disable.jpg
     
    Jason, May 6, 2007
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.