status 0xc0000225 error when booting.

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Beauford, Apr 7, 2007.

  1. Beauford

    Beauford

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the error I get when booting. I am running a dual boot XP/Vista system with XP on C and Vista on E (although Vista thinks it's on F). This did work at one time, it just started doing this today.

    The fix listed below, and on all the search engines I have searched does not work, I still have the error.

    Does anyone know an actual fix that works, other than installing a real operating system?

    Thanks

    ------------------

    "Windows did not start correctly. A recent hardware or software change might
    be the cause.

    If you have aWindows installation disc, insert the disc and restart your
    computer. Click system recovery options, and then choose a recovery tool.
    (Startup Repair, available in some versions of Windows, can automaitcally
    diagnose and fix startup problems.)

    If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer
    manufacturer for assistance.


    Status: 0xc0000225
     
    Beauford, Apr 7, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Beauford

    Beauford

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also tried unplugging all USB devices with the same result.
     
    Beauford, Apr 7, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Beauford

    Beauford

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So here's the problem. I have a Sata drive which is disk 1 and an IDE drive which is disk 0, and Vista in it's ultimate wisdom, thinks disk 0 is the boot drive, unfortunately it is drive F on my system and is not even an active boot partition. The Sata drive has my C drive and is the boot/system partition.

    So how do I get Vista to see drive 1 as and the C drive and the boot partition???????

    A new OS and the same old ridiculous problems.

    THX
     
    Beauford, Apr 7, 2007
    #3
  4. Beauford

    Beauford

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fixed. For those of you that may have the same issue. I had to disable my primary IDE in BIOS so Vista wouldn't see it and then run the repair option from the Vista CD. This put the boot files on the C: drive where they should have been in the first place. I then re-enabled my IDE drive and all is fine.

    Now if I could get Slackware installed on a my Sata drive I'd even be happier.
     
    Beauford, Apr 7, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. aldap

    error on re-booting

    aldap, Oct 17, 2006, in forum: Main Lounge
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,237
    blackhat
    Oct 18, 2006
  2. webscreen
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,581
    webscreen
    Dec 29, 2006
  3. WAW8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    5,367
  4. lordiceman

    Network status icon

    lordiceman, Mar 20, 2007, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    857
    Jason
    Mar 20, 2007
  5. yourkey

    Missing status bar when transfering files

    yourkey, Nov 15, 2007, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    620
    yourkey
    Nov 15, 2007
  6. Cyrano

    Re-booting random, annoying error

    Cyrano, Feb 17, 2008, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    728
    Cyrano
    Feb 23, 2008
  7. Guest

    Delivery Status Notification (Failure)

    Guest, Jun 28, 2008, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    64,487
    Millennm
    Mar 21, 2012
  8. Xernel
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,181
    Xernel
    Jun 4, 2013
Loading...