Stability

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Golden Helmet, Mar 15, 2006.

  1. Golden Helmet

    Golden Helmet

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was a beta tester for Win95/98 and 2000, and have to say that 2000's stability was pretty good at Beta 2.



    What is Vista like? as I don't want to install unless it's stable enough.



    Thanks in advance.
     
    Golden Helmet, Mar 15, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Golden Helmet

    Synapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Stable enough that I'm using it as my Primary OS. To make it work totally correctly, there are a few minor modifications to make, but other than that, it's pretty damn stable. ALMOST as stable as XP.
     
    Synapse, Mar 15, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Golden Helmet

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    The Os itself is stable, its the drivers for your GPU and so on which could make it unstable. If they are all supproted as of now then your set!
     
    Jason, Mar 15, 2006
    #3
  4. Golden Helmet

    Golden Helmet

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Machine is a Laptop powered with a CentrinoM at 1.7Ghz, and 512MB of ram.



    With a 6100 nVidia GPU with dedicated 256 MB of ram :) will that do?



    Oh and a Realtek audio subsys.
     
    Golden Helmet, Mar 16, 2006
    #4
  5. Golden Helmet

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Should be fine. Driver support for basic things like video card,sound, etc.. in vista is great. Its just the other things like wireless and media card readers which can be a pain.
     
    Jason, Mar 16, 2006
    #5
  6. Golden Helmet

    Golden Helmet

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Erk, wireless is essential for me, as I work from home and my place is wifi'd up...



    My wifi stuff in the lappy is Intel ProSET...
     
    Golden Helmet, Mar 17, 2006
    #6
  7. Golden Helmet

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Ha, wow thats funny. I just bought an intel pro 2915ABG wireless card to replace the one in my laptop which is horrible. I dual boot windows xp pro X64 and Vista 5308 x64. Well intel has no xp pro X64 drivers but they do have a Vista Beta 1 beta driver, So I tried installing it on my 5308 x64 and it wouldnt install. Now Im not sure if that Beta 1 driver will work in the x86 version of Vista or not, it may but for me it didnt. I ended up going back to my old wireless card. If you use wireless a lot then I would stay away from vista for the time being, the driver support isnt there yet. But you can always give it a shot, install vista 32 bit and see if intels driver will work and if doesnt just un-install vista.
     
    Jason, Mar 17, 2006
    #7
  8. Golden Helmet

    Golden Helmet

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers dude, I'll make do with my WindowBlinds Vista Glass skin for the mo then :)



    Shame, as I am gagging to give it a spin :)
     
    Golden Helmet, Mar 18, 2006
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.