soundMAX ADI1986A sound driver problem

Discussion in 'Drivers' started by harmo777, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. harmo777

    harmo777

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi



    after i installed vista RC1 x64 the only thing that i couldnt get working was the sound card, dose anyone know of drivers for this sound card, thanks
     
    harmo777, Sep 22, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. harmo777

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    no soundmax drivers for vista so far
     
    blackhat, Oct 20, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. harmo777

    vanSijll

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A*dam, The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I've got the RTM (6.000) -Dutch 64 version of Vista, same problem with the soundMAX ADI-1988A sound card-chip set with AMD Turion64 and ATI Express200-M.

    Analog Devices Incorperated doesn't tell you anything, SoundMax.com, ATI, AMD, VIA, Intel, about AC97 on 64bit- nobody knows anything.

    And Microsoft ? Oh, go to the manufacterer.... simple.

    If you have any success, please let me know.
     
    vanSijll, Jan 20, 2007
    #3
  4. harmo777

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    vista should install them on startup.

    soundmax worked on my vista pc
     
    blackhat, Jan 20, 2007
    #4
  5. harmo777

    VewDew

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    My sound works but I only have 2 speakers. Which sucks since I just purchased a nice Logitech 5.1 speaker system. It seems that Vista doesn't detect the speakers plugged into the line in and mic jacks and switch them over.
     
    VewDew, Feb 2, 2007
    #5
  6. harmo777

    Corny2x

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Vista Home Premium x64 and on my pc vista installed drivers for my AD1986A soundard as a SPDIF output device, which is great but with 1 small problem. The Soundcard doesnt output to SPDIF as it doesnt have that port on it. Also the manufacturers i went to don't seem to respond to my questions about Vista drivers.



    So either they are working so hard on Vista drivers they have no time to answer my questions OR they most likely ignoring the driver requests for old hardware and making new hardware with new drivers so that everyone has to spend another 3 month's pay to get sound.



    Which do you think ?



    Either way we unfortunatly have to wait another few weeks for sound. But hey look at all those pretty Aero see-thru windows that should kill some time.
     
    Corny2x, Feb 3, 2007
    #6
  7. harmo777

    VewDew

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asus has posted beta drivers for the p5LD2 mobo at http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us



    I installed them on my A8N-VM and although I don't get 5.1 right now (Vista still can't figure out the line-in and Mic jacks) I do have quadraphonic sound and the option to switch from analog to spdif. This might help some.
     
    VewDew, Feb 5, 2007
    #7
  8. harmo777

    Corny2x

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The above ASUS driver will work for a Realtek ALC880/882 soundcard but i don't think that it'll work with a ADI 1986a. I've been trying to download it but the ASUS site is pretty buggy and it wont let me download it. I'll post as soon as i can get hold of the driver but it'd be helpful if someone else who has tested it already could post their results.
     
    Corny2x, Feb 7, 2007
    #8
  9. harmo777

    russbelluk

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    use the xp drivers that come with ur motherboard/sound card, and run them with compatibility with xp sp2, that'll work, worked for me
     
    russbelluk, Feb 8, 2007
    #9
  10. harmo777

    VewDew

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    will that give complete control? I can get quadraphonic sound with the vista beta drivers from Asus but not 5.1.
     
    VewDew, Feb 8, 2007
    #10
  11. harmo777

    VewDew

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    VewDew, Feb 16, 2007
    #11
  12. harmo777

    russbelluk

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    should do cuz u get that screen that pops up hen u plug somethin in and it asks u what you've plugged in to it
     
    russbelluk, Feb 16, 2007
    #12
  13. harmo777

    mavericks77

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no sound either...Vista put Soundmax driver in my pc. I looked in my bios and it was Ac97... I have sound now....worth looking into.....
     
    mavericks77, Feb 25, 2007
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.