Sound does not work

Discussion in 'Drivers' started by dmj120, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. dmj120

    dmj120

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried a few forums to get the sound working.

    Laptop = Acer Aspire 5610; OS = Vista


    TEST MY HARDWARE
    http://www.testmyhardware.com


    Sound Device
    Description : Realtek High Definition Audio
    Manufacturer : Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    Status : OK
    Driver Version : 6.0.1.5334
    Driver Date : 12-1-2006
    INF : oem43.inf\IntcAzAudModel
    Driver : c:\windows\system32\drivers\rtkvhda.sys

    Nothing works!!! I've installed the drivers from Acer and RealTek, trying both auto and manual. The result of both gives me the old blue screen, indicating realteck.sys at .....

    Any suggestions???? I've never experienced drives not loading, but even the touchpad won't load.
     
    dmj120, Dec 9, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dmj120

    dmj120

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am now seeing an Unknown item in the device manager, details properties = hardware Ids
    Value = hdaudio\func_01&ven_10ec&dev_0880


    There is no sound/controller listed.
     
    dmj120, Dec 9, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dmj120

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Sorry ... there's not really anything we can do about faulty drivers. We don't supply drivers and we certainly don't have any way to debug bad drivers.



    Did the PC come preloaded with Vista from Acer? If it did, your best recourse would be to check with them and see what support they will provide.



    Worst case, if the audio has NEVER been working, would be to do a complete reinstall -- but you'd probably need an ACER-provided recovery CD to do that.
     
    WAW8, Dec 9, 2009
    #3
  4. dmj120

    dmj120

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know.

    I was hoping someone knewsome little trick to help me troubleshoot.

    thanks, Josh
     
    dmj120, Dec 10, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.