Some Programmes Won't Install

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Alexa, Apr 2, 2017.

  1. Alexa

    Alexa

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Adobe Shockwave, and Adobe flash, when I click on the install, nothing happens.
    I tried on the original drive, which was a HDD, the same programmes, plus LibreOffice, however Libreoffice installed fine on the SSD.
     
    Alexa, Apr 2, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Alexa

    Alexa

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Solved.

    For some reason, I had to right-click abd open 'Properties', and then click 'Unblock', however I never had to do that before.
     
    Alexa, Apr 3, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Alexa

    mike shupp

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    It's a new thing, I'm noticing it myself. I'm guessing that some suppliers are providing files in shorter, "denser" formats that download more quickly. It might also be that such files are encoded to resist decryption by casual snoopers looking to see wht you download.
     
    mike shupp, May 16, 2017
    #3
  4. Alexa

    Ethan Stark

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most Windows software needs to be installed with administrator privileges. Thanks to User Account Control (UAC), you’re probably using a limited user account. Most of the time, you won’t have to worry about this. Whenever you install a program you’ll see a UAC pop-up and can grant permission. Modern software installers will automatically ask for permission, while Windows will attempt to automatically run old software installers with the administrator privileges they require. However, every so often, a program will fail to install — perhaps the installer will say that it can’t write to a certain folder. In these cases, you’ll need to manually run the installer as administrator.The MUO Security Checklist: What You Need To Do Right Now To Be Safe
    The MUO Security Checklist: What You Need To Do Right Now To Be Safe
    Security can be an overwhelming subject – there are so many potential problems we need to think about when securing our computers, our online accounts, and our wireless networks. This list should help simplify things...
    READ MORETo do so, close the installer, right-click the installer file, and select Run as administrator. Agree to the prompt and the installer will run with administrator privileges, allowing it to write to system folders and install normally.run-program-as-administrator
    Consider x86 vs. x64
    Most Windows computers now have 64-bit hardware and 64-bit versions of Windows. However, some Windows computers still have a 32-bit version of Windows. If you have a 64-bit version of Windows, you can install 32-bit software because it’s backwards compatible. However, if you have a 32-bit version of Windows, you can’t install 64-bit software. If you download a 64-bit software installer for a 32-bit version of Windows, you’ll see an error and the installer won’t run.
    Check whether you’re on a 64-bit version of Windows or not. To avoid this problem, just download the correct installer for your system — many programs have download pages where they offer a choice between 32-bit and 64-bit software installers. 32-bit systems may be referred to as “x86,” while 64-bit systems may be referred to as “x64” or “amd64.” For example, here’s what the option looks like on the 7-Zip website
     
    Ethan Stark, Jun 19, 2017
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. TurboFool
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    915
  2. panda516
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    12,910
  3. contractor
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    5,618
  4. tomrca

    vista ultimate and internet security programmes

    tomrca, Nov 22, 2008, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    724
    tomrca
    Nov 22, 2008
  5. Mataeus

    Programmes (games) can't access AppData suddenly

    Mataeus, Jun 16, 2009, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,171
    Mataeus
    Aug 19, 2009
  6. mhan
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    562
  7. wilbur

    changed Msconfig, now windows won't start

    wilbur, Oct 28, 2016, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    497
    wilbur
    Oct 28, 2016
  8. Zak Byard

    Second monitor resolution won't change

    Zak Byard, Dec 27, 2016, in forum: General Technical
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    264
    Zak Byard
    Dec 27, 2016
Loading...