Shortcut Icon Arrow

Discussion in 'Main Lounge' started by Jim W, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. Jim W

    Jim W

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since Tweak UI doesn't work on Vista, is there anyway to get rid of the arrow on a shortcut icon??

    Thanks

    Jim W
     
    Jim W, Jan 31, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jim W

    BluT

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will need to delete a few entries in the registry.

    Go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

    Then go to InternetShorcut - Delete IsShortCut

    Then go to lnkfile - Delete IsShortCut

    Then go to piffile - Delete IsShortCut

    Reboot and shortcut arrows will be gone.

    I cannot stand the shortcut arrows either, first thing I remove !!
     
    BluT, Feb 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jim W

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    blackhat, Feb 5, 2007
    #3
  4. Jim W

    Bistro

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to pop bubbles, but I read somewhere that removing the shortcut arrow by removing the IsShortCut registry entry screws up Vista's link tracking....that it could mess up your Favorites, Media Center and Games Explorer.

    Tweak IV used to do the same with the arrow remover utility, but they were supposed to fix that. Anybody hear if they did? If so, I'd use it in a heartbeat....those arrows are REAL annoying.

    :unsure:
     
    Bistro, Feb 6, 2007
    #4
  5. Jim W

    Bistro

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I decided to give Tweak IV a shot. It got rid of my shortcut arrows alright, but it made a few other changes by default....i.e. zapped my 3D Flip feature. I noticed that the default would limit the 3D Flip to just 3 pages. No matter what I did, even after reboots, it would default to that setting. As if it even really mattered: the 3D Flip wouldn't even work. Even after restoring the snapshots (made before I did any tweaks)and uninstalling, the 3D Flip feature was gone. That tells me that Tweak IV doesn't really clean up the Registry after it's internal restore and uninstall; leaving unwanted changes on the system. I had to go back to a Restore point in Windows and zap the whole thing. Hopefully they will clean up the program if enough people complain to them about it....unfortunately you cannot email them unless you are a registered paid-for customer. So....if there any registered paid-for customers out there, how about writing to these folks and tell them that a tweak program should only tweak when the user sets the tweaks and not on its own. Until then, leave my system alone.
     
    Bistro, Feb 7, 2007
    #5
  6. Jim W

    w59cb83x

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista manager works very well. Does a lot of things including getting rid of the arrows. Doesn't seem to screw anything up either.
     
    w59cb83x, Feb 12, 2007
    #6
  7. Jim W

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Jason, Feb 12, 2007
    #7
  8. Jim W

    mrsdoyle

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    mrsdoyle, Feb 13, 2007
    #8
  9. Jim W

    ESM

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That last proggie is not the best around... You get black squares instead on arrows in many occasions!
     
    ESM, Feb 16, 2007
    #9
  10. Jim W

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    thats exacly the same problem I had when using tweakVI :D
     
    blackhat, Feb 16, 2007
    #10
  11. Jim W

    Bistro

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup....FxVisor worked for awhile, but then up came those black squares. I ended up just using the little blue arrows...they aren't all that noticable. I guess I'll have to wait for more tweak programs to come out.
     
    Bistro, Feb 17, 2007
    #11
  12. Jim W

    Jim W

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a beta version FxVisor 1.3 if you email Gus Pinto, and ask him for the beta version he'll send you a copy, no problem with black boxes, works great



    fxvisor@frameworkx.com
     
    Jim W, Feb 18, 2007
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.