Running Executables

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by dudelicious, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. dudelicious

    dudelicious

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a setting I can change so that my computer will run all .exe files even if it thinks they're unsafe and gives the message:



    "Windows found that file potentially [email protected]
     
    dudelicious, Mar 1, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dudelicious

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Dunno, but it cant be that much of a stretch to right click the file and run it anyway.
     
    kingofnexus, Mar 1, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dudelicious

    dudelicious

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean. I double click on it and it doesn't run. I right click and click open and I still get the message saying it won't run it.
     
    dudelicious, Mar 1, 2007
    #3
  4. dudelicious

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Maby he meant, right click -> run as admin.
     
    Jason, Mar 1, 2007
    #4
  5. dudelicious

    dr.bisho

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    good thinking administrator but ..... u c i hate da the so abnormality in vista security i think i will betrade micsrosoft and go 2 linux coz its killin me :w00t:

    i was kidn .... how can i evr betrade uncle bill...
     
    dr.bisho, Mar 1, 2007
    #5
  6. dudelicious

    dudelicious

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I run as admin then? When I right click on it the options I get are:



    Thanks for the help by the way.
     
    dudelicious, Mar 2, 2007
    #6
  7. dudelicious

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Well when i right click anything i get more options than that. Also Ive never seen a message saying "Windows found that file potentially harmful". I know that someone got it once on XP when the dl'ed a file off sumone of msn. They just deleted it and i sent them a copy of the same file i donwloaded and it worked. Perhaps the .exe has a known virus in it windows is trying to stop? What .exe files aren't working exactly? Where are you getting them from?
     
    kingofnexus, Mar 2, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.