Running 32 bit software on 64 bit OS

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by lolsonjr, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. lolsonjr

    lolsonjr

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    If this is in the wrong place sorry. Anyway if I go to any 64 bit version of Vista can I still run like Microsoft Office 2007 32 bit on it?? I know this works when using a (pardon) Mac but, I do not know much about what this procedure is like on a PC.
     
    lolsonjr, Mar 20, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lolsonjr

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    64-bit Vista includes something called WOW64 (windows-on-windows 64-bit) that implements an emulator that can handle SOME 32-bit stuff.



    Don't use 64-bit Vista, so I don't have personal confirmation, but my guess is that MS products, even written for 32-bit, should work in 64-bit.
     
    WAW8, Mar 20, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lolsonjr

    kingofnexus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    ALL 32bit programs that work in 32bit vista work in 64bit windows. They run as normal. Thereare no special requirements. The advantage with 64bit windows is that it can handle 64bit applications. The disadvantage is that it can't handle 16bit programs (these are only a few programs that were made pre win 98).

    Bottom line is 32bit applications run no slower in 64bit windows as 32bit windows. The only 64 bit requirement that vista has is that drivers need to be 64bit only.

    I run 64 bit windows so I know this first hand.
     
    kingofnexus, Mar 20, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.