Run Vista on Speed!

Discussion in 'Performance & Tweaks' started by Jason, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    For those of you with crap video cars (more than a year old haha) you are probably struggling running Windows Vista and more then 2 applications at once, let alone trying to switch between them. Especially powerful memory robbing ones like photoshop. By turning off all visual styles you still get the advantages of Windows Vista but not the looks. It runs 100% faster.
    1. <LI>Right Click on "My Computer"</LI><LI>go to "Proprities"</LI><LI>Click on the "Advanced" tab</LI><LI>Under performance go to "Settings"</LI><LI>Now click on "Adjust for best performance"</LI><LI>Or you can choose what you would like to turn off</LI>
     
    Jason, Oct 8, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jason

    afeher

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Thx, but I prefer to buy a new PC, becouse i think the new Vista is about good looking and awesome effects.
     
    afeher, Oct 17, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I know what you mean, but I needed to do this in order to run more then 1 prog on vist and not wait 2 minutes each time.
     
    Jason, Oct 17, 2005
    #3
  4. Jason

    blackhat

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    helmond, The netherlands
    glad that I have a pentium 4 with a radeon 9800+ pro :p
     
    blackhat, Jul 20, 2006
    #4
  5. Jason

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I need to updgrade to a dual core pentium d soon. I like the 805 2.6ghz one because you can OC it to 3.8ghz easy.
     
    Jason, Jul 20, 2006
    #5
  6. Jason

    goldy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird...my ancient gigabyte 7vaxp board with 2500 athlon /ati 9550 video/ 1 gig memory runs Vista ult. a lot faster the xp, even with a few graphics programs running including my tv card (ati 650).
     
    goldy, Aug 28, 2007
    #6
  7. Jason

    Hamp

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Roads area, Virginia
    Toshiba Satellite P105

    Core Duo2 T7200 2 Ghz 2 Ghz
     
    Hamp, Sep 6, 2007
    #7
  8. Jason

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    There must have been something seriously wrong with your XP configuration then.
     
    cyclic, Sep 7, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.