Realtek Diagnostic Utility driver

Discussion in 'Drivers' started by Terence, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. Terence

    Terence

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I power up, I get a message that I should install the correct driver for the Realtek Ethernet Diagnostic Utility. This only started happening after downloading the latest Vista updates. I've been to the realtek site, to my my PC manufacturer's site (Dell) and even run a 'get all your drivers up to date' software... all to no avail.

    I have a Dell Costro 420, 4g Ram, 500g HD

    Any ideas out there?

    Terence
     
    Terence, Aug 29, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Terence

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Would try a system restore to a date before the latest updates.



    Also, general advice is NOT to use those "driver update" programs. Most are just scams. Some break your machine by installing the wrong drivers. Others are disguised malware. Best place to get all your drivers is the manufacturer's website.
     
    WAW8, Aug 31, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Terence

    Terence

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you - I did download the correct drivers from DELL but it made no difference. Just have to put up with until I do the clean install of Windows 7 I suppose!

    Terence
     
    Terence, Sep 2, 2009
    #3
  4. Terence

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Have you tried going to the Windows Update history and removing the updates?



    Also, you could go to Device Manager and see if you can do a rollback of the drivers in question.
     
    WAW8, Sep 2, 2009
    #4
  5. Terence

    Terence

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    None of that worked :-(

    Just have to wait uintil I rebuild the OS...

    Terence
     
    Terence, Sep 3, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.