Programs and Features - Uninstall button has left the building.

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by xl_cheese, May 17, 2007.

  1. xl_cheese

    xl_cheese

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was in the process of uninstalling a few things and started seeing odd behavior. After a couple sucessful uninstalls I clicked on the next program to uninstall. I got a message saying the program had already been uninstalled. (It had not). Then the program and others dissappeared off of the list. The programs that are left no longer have the option of uninstalling.

    [​IMG]

    Can anyone help?

    I then tried to perform a system restore and that failed. Tried in safemode and used different restore points. Nothing worked.

    I then proceeded to try installing a lil game I had laying around. I installed it and only on that program did the uninstall button appear in the window.
     
    xl_cheese, May 17, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. xl_cheese

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    thats really wierd, sorry can't be of any help.
     
    Jason, May 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. xl_cheese

    xl_cheese

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I did a restore back to factory settings. What a pain in the a$$. Especially since one of my dvd backups of personal files got corrupt.

    I just ordered another harddrive and now plan to make a clone every couple days. I haven't looked at the software yet, but I'll bet there's a way to have it do it automatically.
     
    xl_cheese, May 20, 2007
    #3
  4. xl_cheese

    citadin86

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same problem. Somebody should resolve this. If not microsoft, maybe some other smarter guys.
     
    citadin86, May 29, 2007
    #4
  5. xl_cheese

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    Have you right clicked it to see if you have the option there? Maybe it was still busy finnishing the uninstalls on the others? Other than that, i dont know, Havent seen that one yet.
     
    VistaRocks, May 29, 2007
    #5
  6. xl_cheese

    citadin86

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I stumbled upon something. My office had wrong seril, blabla and had to reinstall it. after the reinstallation, the uninstall button appeared. Also, on newly installed programs, the button is there. but no fixes on the old programs.

    It`s like the "log" for the installations has been deleted, or corrupted.

    Strange stuff.
     
    citadin86, May 30, 2007
    #6
  7. xl_cheese

    dabrai_sid

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    encountered exactly the same problem. happened while i was uninstalling yahoo messenger and its components. really need a solution. any help wud be appreciated.
     
    dabrai_sid, Jun 3, 2007
    #7
  8. xl_cheese

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    At least on my machine, it's not a "problem".



    When you first highlight the row, there is no Uninstall selection. But when you click on the row, a box appears on the left side, the box is checked, and then, Uninstall appears on the menu bar at the top. As a matter of fact, several entries work the same way.



    Try it and see.
     
    WAW8, Jun 4, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.