Problems with Mobility Radeon 9200

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by fjompa, Jun 12, 2006.

  1. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 9200 card in my Hp nx7000 laptop, but it seems like vista beta 2 can't recognize the card. I've tried with the beta drivers from ATI with no luck. Does anybody have a solution?
     
    fjompa, Jun 12, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. fjompa

    casnsoto

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here... Except I have the HP ZT3000.



    Soto
     
    casnsoto, Jun 13, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me know if You stumble on a solution
     
    fjompa, Jun 13, 2006
    #3
  4. fjompa

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    So vista doesnt recognize the card at all, meaning it shows up w/ no name in device manager? How do the default vista drivers work w/ it? Does it allow aero?
     
    Jason, Jun 13, 2006
    #4
  5. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    If I start Vista normally, all I get is either a black screen or a green garble, and the card doesn't show in the device manager. The only way is to run in safe mode.
     
    fjompa, Jun 14, 2006
    #5
  6. fjompa

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    You can try going into safemode and rolling back the driver, and then hitting update and allow windows to search for one in its database. I have a similiar modile radeon card in my laptop and the default vista drivers seemed to work fine.
     
    Jason, Jun 14, 2006
    #6
  7. fjompa

    zxxgp

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    turn off Aero. Aero requires a DX9 card.
     
    zxxgp, Jun 14, 2006
    #7
  8. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    I'm running dx9 on xp, so that shouldn't be a problem
     
    fjompa, Jun 15, 2006
    #8
  9. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    Where can I find the rollback option?
     
    fjompa, Jun 15, 2006
    #9
  10. fjompa

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Go to either device manager or right click the desktop and navigate to the video card properties, then keep going until you find the driver tab, it should be listed there. Along w/ "uninstall" and "update". Not sure if it will help, its just a suggestion.
     
    Jason, Jun 15, 2006
    #10
  11. fjompa

    fjompa

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx for your help, but no luck this far, the card is not recognized whatever I try
     
    fjompa, Jun 15, 2006
    #11
  12. fjompa

    aliveone

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Men, I had the same problem wit my hp nx7000 notebook.

    Solved by installing the HP Mobility Radeon drivers!

    Have it all... resolution, S-Video and so on...
     
    aliveone, Jul 2, 2006
    #12
  13. fjompa

    WarGhole

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also HP NX7000.

    I found out that when you install Vista Beta 2 and after last reboot get nothing but black screen, everything is still working, with ATI drivers included Beta 2 your laptop internal display stops functioning, if you plug external monitor to laptop VGA connector you get the picture out there, it just doesn't recognise your internal display, when I found out this, I just installed latest Ati XP drivers from HP using external monitor and after that everything worked.

    I have been using Ubuntu also with this laptop and there i have same problem, newest driver from Ati cause that my internal display wont be recognised any more, but if I plug external monitor there is a picture, that's why I have to use open source display drivers with linux.. Previous Ati drivers worked with linux and so did those drivers included with Vista Beta 1
     
    WarGhole, Jul 13, 2006
    #13
  14. fjompa

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Good info!
     
    Jason, Jul 13, 2006
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.