Problem with WLAN Autoconfig

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by Elprusio, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. Elprusio

    Elprusio

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,



    I have no wireless network connection because my WLAN autoconfig won't start up.

    When i go to my services and start my WLAN Autoconfig , i get the following message:



    Error 3 : The system cannot find the path specified



    Can i reinstall this service ?

    How can i solve this problem ?



    Vista Business is running on my new Dell Vostro 1700 Laptop.



    thanks.

    gr Hans
     
    Elprusio, Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Elprusio

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    First off, check to see the status of the following dependent services:

    - Extensible Authentication Protocol (Started, Automatic)

    - CNG Key Isolation (Started Automatic)

    - NativeWiFi Filter (might not exist)

    - NDIS usermode I/O Protocol (might not exist)

    - Remote Procedure Call (RPC) (Started, Automatic)

    - DCOM Server Process Launcher (Started, Automatic)



    Second, the WLAN Auto Config service is spawned from svchost.exe -- and if you didn't have that, there's a LOT you couldn't do.



    Third, I know of no way to reinstall the service since you can't really remove it in the first place, you can only disable it.
     
    WAW8, Jan 29, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Elprusio

    trump

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same exact probnlem....I dont know what caused this WLAN AutoConfig to stop working.

    I get a "system cannot find path specified" with error code 3

    I hate to have to reinstall Vista for this one issue...is there a way to repair it?
     
    trump, Mar 31, 2008
    #3
  4. Elprusio

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA


    OK, so you get the same error message ... did you check for the services indicated my response to the other post?
     
    WAW8, Mar 31, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.