not allowed to change automatic update settings?! WTF?

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by dustinfrank, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. dustinfrank

    dustinfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i realized this morning that i am blocked from changing the automatic update settings, even though i'm logged as an administrator! I even read the pinned post about "unhiding" the REAL administrator account, followed the instruction and the administrator login DID appear. But even through that login, i cannot change the settings in the Windows update. Maddening. Maybe its a minor issue but its my machine and i want control! I don't want the update to run at 3:00 am and especially with SP1 out soon i want to be there when it happens.

    Can anyone help out with this.

    Much appreciated.
     
    dustinfrank, Feb 26, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dustinfrank

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    How are you trying to change the WU settings -- WU Control Panel or Security Center?



    You can shut down automatic update temporarily by issuing the following command from an elevated command prompt:



    net stop wuauserv



    That failing, you should be able to stop automatic updates by setting the WU service to manual.



    Also, you should be aware that there are reports that Windows Live One Care resets WU to automatic -- without asking, and without permission. So, if you're running this, I would both disable and remove it.



    If you're primarily worried about SP1, I've read that the following will block it's installation:

    1) Open the registry edit

    2) Navigate to HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate

    3) Right click -> New -> DWORD value

    4) Name is DoNotAllowSP (it's case sensitive)

    5) Set the data value as 1

    6) Exit out of regedit



    I've not tried this, but if you can't prevent SP 1 any other way, it's worth a shot.
     
    WAW8, Feb 26, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dustinfrank

    dustinfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks... i've tried through the control panel and security center. And i can't even change it to manual... i can't change anything about them.
     
    dustinfrank, Feb 27, 2008
    #3
  4. dustinfrank

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    When you say you are "Blocked", what does the message say or what appears which leads you to believe it is "Blocked"?
     
    Jason, Feb 27, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.