need help, Per user archived & queued Windows error report

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by quattro, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. quattro

    quattro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]



    i did try to remove them once and Vista was compliantly deleted from my hdd !!!
     
    quattro, Sep 9, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. quattro

    AmericanNightmare

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    It appears to be an issue with your RAID setup to me. I checked my mine however and there was no such weirdness on my disk/s with RAID 0. The reason i say this is b/c that looks to be a bit over half of your available disk even though it's obviously not really (as your actual used space is much lower from the image you posted)so agian i think it's some sort of anomaly if you will caused by Vista seeing the RAID config wrong or the RAID array itself. Is it causing any issues? Did you set up the RAID array yourself or did it come on that machine ( i ask b/c it's a Dell and i am not familiar with retail PC's these days last time i bought one they sure did not come with RAID 0 pre-configured) Anyway it may be due to how Dell set up the RAID if that's the case. If it's not causing trouble i wouldn't worry too much about it you obviously have more space available that what disk clean-up reports.

    I am very new to the whole RAID game so i am sure someone like cyclic can shed more light on it for you.
     
    AmericanNightmare, Sep 10, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. quattro

    cyclic

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have noticed in many different scenarios that Vista does seem to not be able to count properly, running checkdisk against the volume might clear the size error up, clearly the per user settings are not taking that many Gigabytes it is a 'misreported size' I have tried to seek answers to these issues with Vista but without any concrete certainty of what's going on, I don't think it's especially worse or confined to RAID configs, I've never had it on a RAID setup but seen it several times on various Vista setups.

    I have never found though that deleting them anyway causes any problem as the size reported is wrong, then I have always run checkdisk first which usually clears up the 'anomily'.
     
    cyclic, Sep 11, 2007
    #3
  4. quattro

    quattro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did setup the raid and its reporting healthy, the only thing i did differently is i install Vista while my external HDD was connected to the PC.
     
    quattro, Sep 11, 2007
    #4
  5. quattro

    Shub

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    After hours of research and cursing when my own disk cleanup decided to kill my OS, I figured I'd try to find a cure - and I have!





    Open Regedit (start - run - regedit) and go to:



    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\VolumeCaches



    There you will find 4 keys called Windows error reporting.

    Now if you look closely you will see that one (or more) is missing the Folder string.

    Now, lets get to fixing it.



    If you are in the " Windows Error Reporting Archive Files " key



    Right click - New - Expandable String Value.



    Call it Folder and use the following entry:



    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive



    If you are in the " Windows Error Reporting Queue Files " key



    use: %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue



    If you're in the " Windows Error Reporting System Archive Files " key



    use: %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive



    and if you're in the " Windows Error Reporting System Queue Files " key



    use: %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue



    This worked for me atleast, i tried removing the Folder string and the bug was back, hope this helps guys! ;)
     
    Shub, Sep 27, 2007
    #5
  6. quattro

    quattro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0






    Shub thanks man it is finaly fixed thanks to you, in my case the folder string was missing in both " Windows Error Reporting System Archive Files " and " Windows Error Reporting System Queue Files " .



    thanks again :)
     
    quattro, Nov 16, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.