My new HP Pavillion latptop seems slow with vista?

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by cbradley777, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. cbradley777

    cbradley777

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a new HP Pavillion Dv6205 us. It has Pentium Dual Core and Vista Basic and 512 DDR Ram. It seems to run slow, could it be because I have 512 DDR and not 1 GIG. I went to the store where i purchased the laptop and the computer with 1 gig runs faster then mine. Any help would be great. Thanks
     
    cbradley777, Feb 17, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cbradley777

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    That could be the problem. Try disabling some effects. This might help speed things up a little bit.
    1. <LI>Click Start, right click on Computer, and click Properties. <LI>Click Advanced System Settings. <LI>Click on the Advanced tab. Under Performance, click Settings. <LI>Uncheck these options: <UL><LI>Fade or slide menus into view <LI>Fade or slide tooltips into view <LI>Fade out menu items after clicking <LI>Show shadows under menus <LI>Slide open combo boxes <LI>Slide taskbar buttons <LI>Use a background image for each folder type</LI>
    <LI>Close the Performance Options &amp; System Properties dialogs.</LI>[/list]
     
    VistaRocks, Feb 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cbradley777

    bruiser

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one also, your machine is running on one channel now ,you need to install another stick of matching ram.By matching I mean the same size like 512. Your machine will speed up alot when you do this.I put 2 sticks of 1mg in mine and it FLIES.I have the original 512 stick that came out of the machine if you are interested in it.Either way do yourself a favor and get another stick of ram so your machine can work to its potential.Make sure you buy the correct ram its pc2-5300 200 pin DDR2 SODIMM.

    Good Luck

    Bruce
     
    bruiser, Feb 24, 2007
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.