MSI Installer Constantly Frozen

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by thund3rstruck, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. thund3rstruck

    thund3rstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I did an upgrade from WinXP SP2 a while back to RC2 and it seemed ok except that my control panel network options disappeared off the face of the earth and so I could no longer VPN into work.



    So.. this morning I decided to download the newest Vista from MSDN and do a clean install. I finished the install and with no software at all on the machine I went to install ElbySoft Virtual Clone Drive so I can mount my isos and install Visual Studio. This is the same package I was using on my previous upgrade. Well, msi hangs on 'creating system restore point' forever. I let it run for 2 hours and then killed the process. I rebooted several times and still the same so I tried another msi file and it did the same thing.



    I'm at a loss here. So now I have no way to install software since there is no way to install a program to mount isos nor any program to burn isos. Absolutely rediculous that I must boot to Ubuntu Linux to burn an MSDN ISO file to a CD so I can go back and install it on a windows machine....



    Is anyone else having these same problems with msi files? This is an x86 laptop with UAC disabled.
     
    thund3rstruck, Apr 5, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. thund3rstruck

    thund3rstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No one else had had problems with MSI files here?



    Ok, well I downloaded the Vista drivers for my laptop but since Vista cannot run any msi files, they're useless. Time to dump and go back to XP. **** Vista... if I wanted this much problems with an OS I would have stayed with Linux
     
    thund3rstruck, Apr 5, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. thund3rstruck

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    I use alcohol120 to mount iso's and burn them, they have a Vista compatible version. I realize your upset over your current situation but please go easy on the language :).
     
    VistaRocks, Apr 5, 2007
    #3
  4. thund3rstruck

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    WAW8, Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.