Monitor Looks all weird when Vista Idles

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Kwanjie, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. Kwanjie

    Kwanjie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys I have a problem and was wondering if somone can help me.

    I just installed Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit ( all Activated ) and when I let the computer idles for like 30 min and I come back to it my screen looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I can hear that windows is working, the only way I can reset this is to press the power button my computer and restart it.

    Heres my configuration for my PC:

    Asus A8N-SLI Premium Motherbaord

    Kingston 2 x 1 GB ram (2gig total)

    eVGA 7900 GT KO Video card (Newest Vista 64 bit ForceWare drivers Installed)

    2 x Maxtor 250 GB SATAII drives

    1 x WD Caviar 320GB IDE

    1 x Pioneer DVD-R/W

    Any Help would be appreciated!

    P.S I also disabled sleep mode because I thought that was the problem, but it still occured even with sleep mode disabled

    Thank You!:)
     
    Kwanjie, Feb 9, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Kwanjie

    Vince53

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kwanjie, it could be that your video card is the problem, but if that were the case, it should cause problems during normal use. There are several free programs that monitor your machine's internal temperature.

    You could also check your "Power Settings" to see how long it takes before your system shuts down when not in use.
     
    Vince53, Feb 9, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Kwanjie

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    Did you also disable hibernation, some ppl have had problems recovering from hibernation. I myself have diabled both and havent had any problems.
     
    VistaRocks, Feb 9, 2007
    #3
  4. Kwanjie

    Kwanjie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked my video card and it seems to be running normal, I think if it was a hardware issue I think my video card would fail during normal operation.

    I've already disabled both Hibernation and Sleep.. i'm so puzzled!
     
    Kwanjie, Feb 9, 2007
    #4
  5. Kwanjie

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    Have you also disabled your screensaver also? If not try that, might not recover from it very well. Did you have the same problem before updating the video drivers?
     
    VistaRocks, Feb 9, 2007
    #5
  6. Kwanjie

    Kwanjie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive disabled Screen saver also and it still occurs

    Also it happened right after a fresh install, then I thought it might be teh drivers then I updated it from nVidia's website and the propblem still persists
     
    Kwanjie, Feb 9, 2007
    #6
  7. Kwanjie

    VistaRocks

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury,New York. U.S.A.
    How about the monitor drivers from Dell? Just trying to help ya, kind of a wierd problem.
     
    VistaRocks, Feb 9, 2007
    #7
  8. Kwanjie

    Kwanjie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hehe I thank you for your help!

    Tried Dell XP 64 Bit drivers for the monitor same issue
     
    Kwanjie, Feb 9, 2007
    #8
  9. Kwanjie

    Kwanjie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out guys. It's the automatic monitor shut off that is causing this iissue. when it turns off the monitor it due to idle then when u come back it occurs
     
    Kwanjie, Feb 10, 2007
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.