Lock out of vista computer: RAID set up.

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by Wizza1337, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. Wizza1337

    Wizza1337

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone, its almost 2am, I have reports to do and such... you know the story.

    To make a VERY long story short, I have a password on my desktop and I can't get into it.

    Re-installing isn't an option. I've tried a bunch of shady CD-BOOT recovery, but has a serious problem with RAID set up.

    Anyway to get into this as a guest? or some how change the password in anyway so I can get in!?

    Thanks in advance

    Eric
     
    Wizza1337, Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Wizza1337

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Looks like no one has replied. The main problem you're up against here is the RAID installation.



    The best boot-your-machine-and-access-windows generic solution I've seen is something called a Linux System Recovery CD. It will boot your machine and provides a host of apps that will allow accessing the drives. But, I don't believe that it can handle a RAID array. Plus, you would need to be able to download it and burn the CD -- which would require a working machine.



    Acronis True Image will also create a Linux boot CD, and there's a third options known as Bart PE. I've seen reports of where this third option works when the other two don't.



    But, you'll need to google it, and you need a working machine to make the cd image and burn it. Don't use it, so I don't know if it will handle RAID.
     
    WAW8, Jul 2, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Wizza1337

    CL0N3R

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had problem when my girlfriend changed password and since its vista I have not heard of Locksmith software to break into vista yet so sorry to tell you but ur gonna have to suck it up and take a loss on the info or wait and look for a compatibale software
     
    CL0N3R, Oct 17, 2007
    #3
  4. Wizza1337

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    You can try and download a thing called ERD Commander which is basically windows xp on a cd, you can boot straight from the DVD or CD however you burn it and get right in. You have a huge list of tools to use, as well as easy access to your hard disk to get any data you may need transfered to a USB drive or other source. According to their website it does support RAID not sure if it will support your controller but its worth a shot.



    http://searchwindowssecurity.techtarget.com/downloadPage/0,295339,sid45_gci1212576,00.html



    UPDATE:



    I found this list of raid controllers it natively supports on this site, there seems to be a lot and this list is from the 2002 version not 2005 so you may be in luck.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936007
     
    Jason, Oct 17, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.