loading my vista disk on laptop

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by patsy, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. patsy

    patsy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    am trying to load my vista disk onto toshiba satelite computer
     
    patsy, Mar 11, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. patsy

    MrMagic

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    And?
     
    MrMagic, Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. patsy

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Your subheading asks if your Vista disk will "work on all computers".



    The answer is a qualified yes, given that a single Vista DVD contains many different versions of Vista and is not, therefore, computer specific. But there are versions of Vista media that are only 32-bit or 64-bit, and will only load and install on a computer with the same CPU architecture.



    Additionally, while virtually any Vista DVD will install on any box, an OEM DVD that you purchase will most probably NOT activate on a machine that came preinstalled with Vista because they use different activation schemes.



    There are also limitations on "upgrading" an XP machine to Vista depending on the version of XP and the version of Vista you want on the box. For example, you can not "upgrade" XP Pro to Vista Home Premium.



    Finally, installing from a purchased DVD to a machine containing XP is likely to require you to find, download, and save device drivers ahead of time, especially if you're installing to a SATA hard drive.



    This is the long way of saying that if you don't know the details of installing and configuring an OS on a box, including migrating device drivers and BIOS upgrades, you probably should NOT be doing it.



    Better to pay someone to do it and end up with a working machine.
     
    WAW8, Mar 11, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.