Is Home Basic Worth it?

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by davidc14, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. davidc14

    davidc14

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having run the update advisor, it turns out that my computer isn't fully capable of running Windows Aero (shock). The advisor recommended that I chose Home Basic, but I would be able to run Premium, just without the Aero graphics. So my first choice is, Basic or Premium (lacking few features)? My second choice, is after I decide which version, whether I should get the upgrade package or shell out for the full version, just incase?



    I'm keen to hear what people think and look forward to getting whichever version is best for me.
     
    davidc14, Jan 30, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davidc14

    xjuliephanx

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you're going to get basic i'd rather not dish out the bucks. if you're perfectly fine with xp sp2 i wouldn't upgrade until at least the main bugs are fixed and you can get premium. without the ability to run aero its just a waste of money in my opinion
     
    xjuliephanx, Jan 30, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davidc14

    davidc14

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, just to verify, my PC has 512mb of RAM, 64mb integrated graphics, and a Celeron running2.4GHz. What doyou guysthink?
     
    davidc14, Jan 31, 2007
    #3
  4. davidc14

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    That gonna be iffy. According to microsoft you system can "run" vista but to get full potential and run it at the speed of xp you are going to need at leaste 1GB of ram, and a better graphics card. Then again if you don't want any of the cool visual effects you can just run vista in the plain theme mode which In my opinion is pointless. Then again that cpu isnt too powerful either.

    I suggest buying or rebuilding that pc w/ a new motherboard/cpu/ram/video card. Should only cost around $500 for all of it.
     
    Jason, Jan 31, 2007
    #4
  5. davidc14

    davidc14

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, I think I would just build another computer because this one is a Dell and you know how they go when it comes to upgrades.

    One thing is, I have never built a PC before, I have aspired to but never got round to it, the one thing I want to know is how do I check everything I'm looking at buying is compatable?
     
    davidc14, Jan 31, 2007
    #5
  6. davidc14

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    You can always buy a thing called a barebone computer system w/ comes w/ the case and motherboard then you add the cpu which fits the same socket as the motherboard. The motherboard also dicatest what type of memory it takes and weather or not its a pci express or agp video card slot. the moterhboard dictates a lot.
     
    Jason, Jan 31, 2007
    #6
  7. davidc14

    davidc14

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason, would you be able to check the following for me, I just want to be sure, I won't be buying these any time soon but I just want clarification incase that changes and I do buy them, keep in mind they are in UK prices.



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3V32



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3024



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=44RB



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=48QN



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=409X



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=44HC



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=44JR



    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4DG8



    And I have no DVD+/- Rewriterin that list because I already have one.



    Edit: No need to check those links now, I ordered a laptop with Vista Premium on it, it has 1GB of RAM and 128MB of shared graphics memory and a 1.73GHz Celeron M, not great but designed for Vista and was cheap from a PC superstore. Thanks anyway guys.
     
    davidc14, Jan 31, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.