Internet Explorer will not connect to the internet but firefox will

Discussion in 'Networking & Internet' started by jmmj, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. jmmj

    jmmj

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i've been having problems with IE now for around 1 month and haven't solved it. Each time i open it it will open but won't connect.
    It started when i got a virus, i got rid of the virus but now cannot use IE and programs related to IE like Windows Live Messenger.
    The error also tells me something about my proxxy settings but i didn't quite understand it :p I've tried the different methods of going into Internet Options going to the advanced tab and resetting then restarting my computer but it still didn't work.

    Any help please?
     
    jmmj, Sep 19, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jmmj

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi jmmj, can you let us know the exact error you get about the proxy and we'll see what can be done :).
     
    Ian, Sep 19, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jmmj

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    If you didn't establish the proxy yourself, this is a typical symptom of malware infection.

    In that case, download and run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. It does a pretty good job of cleaning out these kinds of problems.
     
    WAW8, Sep 20, 2010
    #3
  4. jmmj

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check and make sure you have not set IE to Work offline.

    [​IMG] IE9_Work_offline.jpg
     
    clifford_cooley, Sep 20, 2010
    #4
  5. jmmj

    jmmj

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm it's no longer telling me about the proxxy.
    This is the exact error. "ie.redirect.hp.com" is not set up to establish a connection on port "World Wide Web server (HTTP)" with this computer.
    I know i need to get a connection or port or whatever but i have no clue how.

    I'm bad with computers xD

    And i made sure that work offline was not checked.
     
    jmmj, Sep 20, 2010
    #5
  6. jmmj

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    WAW8, Sep 20, 2010
    #6
  7. jmmj

    jmmj

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks alot Waw8 it worked perfectly and now i can use IE again.

    Cheers!!!!!! ;)
     
    jmmj, Sep 20, 2010
    #7
  8. jmmj

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Glad to hear you're OK again.
     
    WAW8, Sep 20, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.