Internet connects..but some sites dont work

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by desrone, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,i've been having a really odd problem with a new laptop i've purchased,the wired connection i use CONNECTS..but most sites dont work,except for sites like google or yahoo,and other random sites..but most of them dont work,and msn cant connect either,ill list the things ive already tried:

    1.connect directly to the modem ( i use a router)

    2.use firefox

    3.check off SSL 2.0 in the options list

    3.turn off phishing filter

    4.do system restore AND exchange the computer for a new one

    5.change the DNS to an actual one instead of auto-detect settings

    and 6. disable internet vp6 or w/e it's called,ive done a few other things my isp,hp,and microsoft have mentioned,but none seem to work,AND the odd thing is..all sites magically worked about an hour ago,and i was able to use the laptop like i should be(eg. connect to all the sites),though im not even sure what i did that made it work all of a sudden,i wasnt even trying to make it work at that time..so,if anyone recognizes this problem,can you please tell me? my mom's computer (which is also using the router) connects fine,and also im using windows vista home premium..any help would be appreciated
     
    desrone, Jan 27, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Here's a fix that has worked for some folks:



    1) Click the Start button

    2) Right-click Computer, then properties

    3) Select Device Manager, if you get a UAC prompt, OK it

    4) Expand Network adapters on the right

    5) Right-click your network adapter, select Properties

    6) Click the Advanced tab

    7) Scroll down through the list and select TCP/UDP Checksum Offload (IPv4) on the left

    8) Click the Value pulldown, select Disabled

    9) Click OK, close Device Manager

    10) Reboot your machine



    Let us know if this fixes it.
     
    WAW8, Jan 28, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    it doesent show up in the list :S
     
    desrone, Jan 28, 2008
    #3
  4. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone here help me at all..? its ridiculous that this OS is causing so much trouble =/
     
    desrone, Jan 29, 2008
    #4
  5. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    When it doesn't connect, what are you seeing?



    How are you connecting to the internet? Directly though cable modem? Directly through DSL? Through a router?
     
    WAW8, Jan 29, 2008
    #5
  6. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i see one of those 'cannot display page' notifications and it gives me the option to diagnose the problem (which doesent work)

    also im connecting to a dsl modem through router,but ive connected it directly TO the modem so that didnt fix it
     
    desrone, Feb 3, 2008
    #6
  7. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Are you running Norton Antivirus? There have been reports that disabling the Norton firewall does not work, and only uninstalling it fixes this kind of problem.



    If you're not running Norton AV, check your Windows Updates. Look for the following and remove them, one at a time:

    1) KB942651

    2) KB943485

    3) KB941644



    There have been reports of this problem appearing after one or more of the above Updates was installed.
     
    WAW8, Feb 4, 2008
    #7
  8. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i delete updates? deleting norton antivirus did nothing as well
     
    desrone, Feb 7, 2008
    #8
  9. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    You open Windows Updates and when the panel comes up, there are some selections on the left, one of which allows you to see the history of the updates you've installed. Either there on on the history page, there's a link to a feature that allows you to select individual Updates to be removed.
     
    WAW8, Feb 7, 2008
    #9
  10. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ive uninstalled them,only one of them was installed,the 941 one,otherwise the others havent been installed im assuming,that didnt seem to work,any other advice before i go absolutely mad?
     
    desrone, Feb 7, 2008
    #10
  11. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Norton products have a tendency to leave "scraps" lying around, especially in the registry. Go to the Symantec site and download the "clean" tool. It will have a name like SymNRT. Run that and it will wipe out all traces of Norton products.
     
    WAW8, Feb 8, 2008
    #11
  12. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope,didnt work.
     
    desrone, Feb 9, 2008
    #12
  13. desrone

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    You mean the Norton Removal Tool didn't work? Or, that it DID work --but you're still unable to connect to some sites?



    Also, since this thread is getting too long to see all the posts at one time, could you provide us a short list of all the fixes you've tried?
     
    WAW8, Feb 10, 2008
    #13
  14. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did provide a short list at the beginning,and yes the removal tool did work but the sites still dont connect.
     
    desrone, Feb 13, 2008
    #14
  15. desrone

    desrone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess i could list them again though,

    i cleared ssl state,cleared all cookies,history,temporary files and etc,made sure my internet security is at the default level..uninstalled norton and used the removal tool,exchanged the computer for a different one but same model,restored it to factory settings,did the whole ipconfig reset thing..and thats all i can remember,you could list the methods you're thinking of in a post and i can tell you if i've done that though,i dont remember off the top of my head but if i see the method written down i can tell you if i've done it
     
    desrone, Feb 14, 2008
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.