Installing

Discussion in 'Installation & Compatibility' started by BATheTechWiz, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. BATheTechWiz

    BATheTechWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I install Vista, tomorrow hopefully, I read that I need to backup. Does this mean that I will lose everything I have on my system?

    Also, will I be able to still use files that are on a flashdrive, even though they were from XP? Or will any files from XP be unusable?

    Thanks!

    Edit-I got it through my computer company, they said that I would end up with whatever type I have now, but the disk says Business Express. Is this good, does it have a sidebar?
     
    BATheTechWiz, Jun 20, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. BATheTechWiz

    MafiaLord91

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. It means if something goes wrong you will have a copy. You are going to want more than a flashdrive also. And almost everything that works on XP will work on Vista. I have never used Business so somebody else needs to answer that one.
     
    MafiaLord91, Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. BATheTechWiz

    BATheTechWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yah, I only have pictures on flashdrive, I have a mybook, that has the rest.


    Thanks!
     
    BATheTechWiz, Jun 20, 2007
    #3
  4. BATheTechWiz

    WAW8

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Answer to your question depends on the type of install. If you do an upgrade, it will retain your files, settings, and programs. If you do a clean install, you will lose everything in the OS partition (hence the word "clean").



    Also, what is this Business "Express" edition? What does the DVD look like?
     
    WAW8, Jun 21, 2007
    #4
  5. BATheTechWiz

    BATheTechWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, see, its not like in a Vista Case. It came from a company called Modus Link.

    I guess I will not do the clean sweep.

    The label on the back says Windows Vista Business, does this mean that I don't have the sidebar with gadgets?
     
    BATheTechWiz, Jun 21, 2007
    #5
  6. BATheTechWiz

    BATheTechWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry. it is the businees edition. The disk was from HP, and Moduslink, I think they just made their own disk, not sure, but it does have everything on the back of the white papercase.
     
    BATheTechWiz, Jun 21, 2007
    #6
  7. BATheTechWiz

    Camride

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I'm pretty sure business edition still has the sidebar. I had a machine with Business I was working a couple of days ago, but now I can't remember for sure if it had the sidebar or not.
     
    Camride, Jun 22, 2007
    #7
  8. BATheTechWiz

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I think sidebar is a standard feature. But everything I've worked with has been Ultimate.
     
    Jason, Jun 22, 2007
    #8
  9. BATheTechWiz

    warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running business on my Laptop, yes it has the sidebar, it only lacks the Media center, and dvd makerstandard with premium and ultimate...but ithas better security than premium and better access to business inetworks....these are also available in ultimate as well...business will do fine...
     
    warlord, Jun 22, 2007
    #9
  10. BATheTechWiz

    BATheTechWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, its on.

    I am using it now, and love it. Only bad thing, I lost everything, not the right upgrade edition, but thats ok, the only hard thing is itunes to reinstall.

    To save me from losing this again, I bought an external hard drive, smart me!
     
    BATheTechWiz, Jun 22, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.