Installing RC1 on SATA drive with nForce4 chipset? Forget it!

Discussion in 'Drivers' started by Hanahou, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. Hanahou

    Hanahou

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd read many forums regarding the troubles installing RC1 on SATA drives and found many suggestions which proved to be useless with my configuration. I'd installed Beta2 on a SATA drive without any problems at all, but RC1 reports "Windows is unable to find a suitable volume for installation". I tried many drivers from nVidia that were supposed to help, but they were of no use to me. I should state that I am <U>not</U> using a RAID setup with the four SATA drives I have.

    Now I have the four SATA drives AND an EIDE drive! Yes, I purchased and installed a PATA drive just to see if my troubles would go away. Believe it or not... VISTA RC1 build 5600 32-bit installed without a hitch! Next challenge was to see if the 64-bit version would install. Viola! No problems at all.

    Now I can boot to either XP Pro, Vista32 or Vista64. My first impressions of 64 aren't good, but I am impressed with Vista32.
     
    Hanahou, Sep 11, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hanahou

    harry-3

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem with RC1 and Asus K8N-VM with my SATA disk. Installed XP and "upgraded" to be able to install RC1.
     
    harry-3, Oct 4, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hanahou

    ibre34

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't have any problems

    Asus A8N-SLI, SATA disk

    Installed RC1 and RC2
     
    ibre34, Oct 14, 2006
    #3
  4. Hanahou

    floydt

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem with nforce 4 ultra d
     
    floydt, Oct 14, 2006
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.