Installing problem

Discussion in 'General Technical' started by HeliX, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. HeliX

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    defo let it sit, since your doing the upgrade install.. the install for some reason take hours, on my little bros comp it froze for about an hour, but i could still hear the h/d so i just left it...
     
    niffer022, Jun 17, 2006
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i've left it for a good hour when it locks up and have tried 3 more times and it has locked up at different times, fisrt time 83% expanding files, second time it reboots at about 21% expanding then carreis on but locks up as soon as the expanding files screen came up, third time it got to 96%!!!! then locked up! I'm begining to think i should give up!?
     
    Bully, Jun 18, 2006
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. HeliX

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    right mate all i can say then is its time for a re burn of the vista dvd, but this time dont burn it with nero 7... vista has known compatablity issues with nero 7, so im thinking that if using nero 7 to burn the disc, its leaving so sort of code/file or what ever on the disc with is making it corrupt and causing you problems....

    dont give up, vista is worth it honest.. :)
     
    niffer022, Jun 18, 2006
    #23
  4. HeliX

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    I used Nero for my burn, seemed to work fine.
     
    Jason, Jun 18, 2006
    #24
  5. HeliX

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    you used nero 7????????? i went through 3 dvd disc's with nero 7 and not one of them worked.. i used somat else and yey vista was here..

    :ermm:
     
    niffer022, Jun 19, 2006
    #25
  6. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I will give a re-burn a go, what do you suggestI use to burn the DVD with?
     
    Bully, Jun 19, 2006
    #26
  7. HeliX

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    i would say away from nero 7.. go with alcohol 120% thats what iv used and its worked fine on 3 diff machines.....

    also burn as slow possible :)
     
    niffer022, Jun 19, 2006
    #27
  8. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I have downloaded Vista again and burnt it to aDVD-RW with 120% alcohol, the only burn speed i could choose was max or X2 so i went with X2, and again it got to 89% expanding files and then locked up so i left it an hour like this and nothing so reset and came hear to update.

    Could it be a harddrive problem? and what is Vista doing when it's expanding the files?
     
    Bully, Jun 19, 2006
    #28
  9. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no joy with this, no matter what i do it will not install and alwayslocks up whenexpanding files!!!

    Someone please help me!
     
    Bully, Jun 20, 2006
    #29
  10. HeliX

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Have you tried mounting the dvd to a virtual drive, not using the dvd. And installing from there? People have done this and it worked. Check other threads for info on mounting it.
     
    Jason, Jun 20, 2006
    #30
  11. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not tried this yet as i am trying to install onto a seperate cleandrive. I havetried installing to my seperate drive from within XP and i lost my XP drive so don't want this to happen again.

    So if i install XP PRO to my drive then upgrade from there with avirtual drive?
     
    Bully, Jun 20, 2006
    #31
  12. HeliX

    scott123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran into problems with Nero 6 getting it burned. I ended up downloading "image burn" (freeware) and it worked like a champ.
     
    scott123, Jun 21, 2006
    #32
  13. HeliX

    niffer022

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castleford west-yorkshire- england
    cheers for the info mate :)
     
    niffer022, Jun 21, 2006
    #33
  14. HeliX

    hukhound

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm hearing this same problem in many posts. I'm having it also. I've tried x32 and x64 versions of Vista, but I get the same result - a black screen during the first automatic reboot by Vista during the install processes. When I do a Safe Mode boot, I can see that the Boot is always stopping just after the following driver loads:

    "Loaded: \$WINDOWS.~BT\Windows\System32\drivers\disk.sys".

    This occurs when I'm installing by inserting the DVD in a current Win XP x64 or Win 2000 active session.

    When I reformat my HD, and boot directly from the DVD I get the bar across the bottom of the screen stating that Windows is copying files. When it completes, the screen just go black and there's no more progress.

    It's frustrating to have a new system and still not be able to run Vista:(.
     
    hukhound, Jun 21, 2006
    #34
  15. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    :crying: I give up! Well i've now tried a clean install frombooting off theDVD and it only gets to about 28% copying files and then locks up.
     
    Bully, Jun 22, 2006
    #35
  16. HeliX

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL


    Have you tried mounting it? People have had success w/ that.



    But now I too am having the copying files problem. The first time I isnstalled beta 2 I did it from within xp, onto a seperate partition. Then that instal got messed up so I had to format that partition and had to install it from the cd since formating that partition wiped out my xp bootloader. Now everytime I try to install it gives me the error at somewhere around 40%. I'm gona try mounting it next.
     
    Jason, Jun 22, 2006
    #36
  17. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have finally received my VistaDVD from microsoft and have tried to install to both a formattedsata HD and a ide HD and still it locks up during copying files!!!!!:angry::crazy::crying:
     
    Bully, Jul 12, 2006
    #37
  18. HeliX

    Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Jason, Jul 12, 2006
    #38
  19. HeliX

    doghucat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I burned both my copies with Nero at 4x and they worked fine
     
    doghucat, Jul 14, 2006
    #39
  20. HeliX

    Bully

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bully, Jul 14, 2006
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.